When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Parisian Apple Tartlet June 9, 2009

Filed under: Baking,Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 11:25 pm
Tags: ,

tuesdayswithdorieThis weeks Tuesdays with Dorie was chosen by Jessica of My Baking Heart.  She picked Dorie’s Parisian Apple Tartlet which is located on page 319 in Baking: From My Home to Yours.  I was very happy when I saw this recipe because it is simple and currently I could take all the simplicity that I can get.  When I went to make this on monday, I realized that I had just ran out of brown sugar.  I decided to use the old standby substitution of granulated sugar and molasses.

Everything was going fine until the last 5 minutes of baking.  Of course I was in the other room on the computer and when I came into the kitchen it kinda smelled like burning.  With two minutes left on the time the molasses had separated from the sugar and was burning.

GRRR.

I actually caught it just in time before the shells started to get too brown and burn.  I pulled them out of the oven and dusted them with powdered sugar.  The tarts turned out great except for the occasional burnt edge on the bottom, but that was fine.  I just ate the apples off the top and it was fantastic.  Like everything I make for Tuesdays with Dorie, this would have been awesome with ice cream 🙂

100_2163

 

5 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie: Parisian Apple Tartlet”

  1. Marthe Says:

    This is amazing with ice cream, trust me: I’ve tried it 😉

  2. Hornedfroggy Says:

    Thanks so much for baking along with me this week! Yes, definitely try it with ice cream next time! 🙂

  3. teaandscones Says:

    I wanted ice cream with mine so badly, but it was not to be. Your tart looks fine to me.

  4. Jayne Says:

    That looks lovely! And yes – it would be fabulous with ice cream!

  5. Amanda Says:

    They came out so beautifully!


Leave a Reply

