When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Honey-Peach Ice Cream June 16, 2009

Filed under: Ice Cream,Peaches,Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 2:13 pm
Tags: , ,

tuesdayswithdorieThis weeks Tuesdays with Dorie was chosen by Tommi of Brown Interior.   She selected Dorie’s Honey-Peach Ice Cream which is located on page 437 of Baking: From My Home to Yours. I LOVE peach ice cream.  As a kid when my parents or my grandparents would ask me what type of ice cream I wanted, I would always ask for peach.  I also LOVE fresh peaches, but it isn’t currently prime peach season here yet so I had to settle for some not so ripe peaches.

On Monday, I decided to make a trip to the local Farm Market and get some fresh produce.  While I was there I spotted some Fresh Peaches from NC, along with lima beans (aka butterbeans), fresh squash, zucchini.  I was in produce heaven.  But I was on a mission, so I couldn’t spend too much time there.  While I was there I spotted some local honey too.  So I picked that up.

100_2169I came home and prepped the ice cream.  Every thing was pretty straight forward but the custard had to cool in the fridge before it could be churned.  I placed it in the fridge and waited until this afternoon.  Ice cream maker was prepped, custard ready, peaches chopped…CHURN TIME!!  The ice cream churned up very nicely and then took a little rest in the freezer for a few hours so that it was firm enough to scoop 🙂

Few hours later, I scooped myself three scoops, sat down, and watched some NCIS on Hulu 🙂

Initially the flavor of the honey was very strong and floral.  But after that you could taste the nice peach flavor.  The only unpleasant thing to eating the ice cream was the random icy chunck of peach.  So I think next time I will puree all the peaches.  Overall, I really liked this ice cream.  Oh, I substituted Non Fat Milk for the whole milk because I didn’t feel like buying it and I also felt the heavy cream added enough fat to give it the right body.  I think I was right.  It wasn’t icy at all, and had a very smooth texture.

 

4 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie: Honey-Peach Ice Cream”

  1. Wendy Says:

    Look forward to seeing it!

  2. Teanna Says:

    Gorgeous ice cream! I didn’t taste the honey at all, but it may have been the type of honey I used! Yours looks delicious!

  3. uclala Says:

    Your Honey Peach Ice Cream looks soo yummy! I love Farmers Markets.
    (I also love to watch NCIS on tv!)

  4. Jules Says:

    Glad it turned out so well! I did puree all the peaches, and I’m glad for it.


Leave a Reply

