When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Coconut-Roasted Pineapple Dacquoise June 23, 2009

tuesdays-with-dorie-logoThis weeks Tuesdays with Dorie was chosen by Andrea of Andrea In The Kitchen. She chose Dorie’s Coconut-Roasted Pineapple Dacquoise which is located on pages 293-295 in Baking: From My Home to Yours. Every time I saw the picture for this recipe it was always struck me as interesting.  I have no idea why I dreaded making this   I saw the picture, and I even thought that I might not like it.  The only long thing about making this recipe is that the dacquoise has to bake in the oven for 3 hours and then once every thing is put together it has to chill for 4-6 hours.  But all the skills used in this recipe are basic and not complicated at all.

100_2170I love pineapple and coconut together.  I find it to be one of the most perfect combinations, however, it can be done wrong.  I have come across a Pineapple Coconut Cake that I actually found to be unappetizing.  How could that be?  Because of sub par ingredients and a lack of love for the final product.  But I digress.

For this recipe I decided that I would only make one-third of the recipe.  Since I already had a container of egg whites hanging out just for this occasion in actually worked out for me.  I just calculated the weight of eggs whites that I would need instead of doing in by piece.  It worked out perfectly.  I also used sweetened coconut because that was what I currently had on hand and I didn’t want to spend extra money, if I didn’t need to.  I didn’t even reduce the sugar content in the recipe and I think it worked out, granted there wasn’t too much coconut in the recipe once you thirded it 🙂

The final product was perfect.  The flavors melded together very well.  I loved the flavor of the roasted pineapple.  It brought out the right amount of its natural sweetness.  At first I thought that the whipped white chocolate ganache might be too sweet for the dish, but it balanced everything out nicely. I would definitely make this recipe again, and for those of you that don’t like coconut you should try this anyway 🙂

100_2174

 

8 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie: Coconut-Roasted Pineapple Dacquoise”

  1. Amanda Says:

    Wow it looks perfect!

  2. Amy Says:

    Yours looks great. I went with the sweetened coconut, too, and didn’t notice any overpowering sweetness (not that I would have minded such a thing!).

  3. Wendy Says:

    Your dacquoise looks great! I’m glad it was a success for you.

  4. Michelle Says:

    Yum your pictures look great! Im glad you liked it. I took the easy route and used puff pastry!

  5. Jules Says:

    Glad you enjoyed it! It looks amazing!

  6. uclala Says:

    Your dacquoise looks perfect! The white chocolate ganache looks so pretty! I’m envious on how high yours turned out and that you were able to spread the ganache over the sides!

    On a side note, where did you get the link for the new logo?

  7. Margot Says:

    Your dacquoise looks fabulous! I was also deterred by the long recipe, but it wasn’t really difficult and this was a great dessert.


Leave a Reply

