When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Today June 28, 2009

Filed under: Life — pastrybrush @ 1:32 pm

I have taken to wandering around town when I don’t want to sit still.

Sitting around my apartment gets depressing after awhile, even though the dogs do keep me pretty entertained with their random bursts of energy which usually results in chasing each other around the apartment 🙂

Today, I decided to venture out and go to my favorite coffee house.

NO, it isn’t Starbucks.  If you know me, you know I don’t give them my money…but I will take free drinks when offered 🙂 We have a history, a bitter one.

I drove 20 minutes into the city.  I guess I should tell you where I went.  I have been writing for almost a year, and haven’t divulged my location.  I guess it is time 🙂

I live in the Richmond, VA, area.  I drove into Carytown, and went to my favorite place, Ellwood’s Coffee.  I love that place.  The location is great.  The place is beautiful, and the coffee is awesome.

0628091010I got my usual drink, an Americano (shots of espresso and hot water), ordered a raspberry muffin, and went to sit outside.  Today is actually a beautiful day.  There was a nice breeze and it was a little overcast for awhile.  I sat in a corner and was positioned just right so that my non-driving arm could actually get some sun, and IT DID.  I am a little red now 🙂

I sat there for 2 hours.  I did some writing and then started to read a new book.

It was nice to get out and do some people watching for awhile, and just enjoy the day.  I actually don’t get to do that too much.  I am thinking about planting some herbs today.  The usual: basil, parsley, chives, and sage.  I know I am planting them late, but at least I will be able to sit outside on my tiny porch and garden in my little planters 🙂

 

One Response to “Today”

  1. Dad Says:

    I love you.

    Dad


Leave a Reply

