When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Tribute to Katherine Hepburn Brownies July 7, 2009

Filed under: Baking,Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 7:00 am
Tags: , , ,

100_2204This weeks Tuesdays with Dorie was chosen by Lisa of Surviving Oz.  She picked Dorie’s Tribute to Katherine Hepburn Brownies, which is located on pages 96-97 in Baking: From My Home to Yours.

I LOVE fudgey brownies.  Absolutely adore them especially with walnuts :)

This recipe was perfect for me because it was a fudgey brownie with walnuts, espresso powder, and cinnamon. What more could a girl ask for?

Well I will tell you….ICE CREAM!!!!

Oh yes, Vanilla Ice Cream no less.  I ended up making two recipes for Tuesdays with Dorie, but I will only be discussing the brownies today.  For the brownies, I substituted espresso powder for the instant coffee granules and pecans for the walnuts because of course I was out.  For the cinnamon I used Chinese Cassia Cinnamon from Penzeys Spices.  I actually had issues with getting the brownies out of the pan.  I guess the parchment paper got a little stuck to the pan.  It was like an airtight seal.  To get the brownies out, I just sliced them in the pan and once I could pry up one corner they popped out :)

These brownies were fantastic.  They had the perfect amount of  fudginess to them.  I actually didn’t even noticed the espresso flavor, but every once in awhile I would get a nice cinnamon flavor.  The vanilla ice cream counter balanced all the chocolate and it worked perfect together.

I ended up taking these to a cookout with some friends, and everyone loved them.  They even brought out the fat free Cool Whip and pink sprinkles.  Seeing as I am a purest when it comes to brownies and ice cream, I kept it simple with no additions :)

 

6 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie: Tribute to Katherine Hepburn Brownies”

  1. Jules Says:

    That looks just delicious! Nice job!

  2. Marthe Says:

    Perfection!! These brownies were soooo good!

  3. Teanna Says:

    To me, there are few things in life better than a fudgey brownie with vanilla ice cream! Gorgeous job!

  4. isabelle Says:

    Your brownies look delicious!
    Brownies and ice cream, there’s nothing better!

  5. Wendy Says:

    Your brownies and ice cream look delicious. YUM.

  6. teaandscones Says:

    And I made Dorie’s Chocolate to go with the brownies. Great minds….. Great minds….

    Those look incredibly delicious.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 461 other followers