When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays with Dorie: Vanilla Ice Cream July 28, 2009

Filed under: Ice Cream,Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 12:56 pm
Tags:

100_2204This weeks Tuesdays with Dorie was chosen by Lynne of Cafe LynnyLu.  She picked Dorie’s Vanilla Ice Cream which is located on pages 428-429 of Baking: From My Home to Yours.  I actually made this back when we made the Tribute to Katherine Hepburn Brownies at the beginning of the month.

When I made the ice cream I opted to not use a vanilla bean for two reasons: 1) I only had half of a vanilla bean and 2) I am too cheap to go out and buy more 🙂  I ended up using 1 tsp vanilla bean paste and another tsp of pure vanilla extract.  I didn’t use all vanilla bean paste because I have learned that it will taste good, but you will have a crazy amount of vanilla bean specks.

I had one incident with the ice cream.  While it was churning, I wandered off into the computer room and it ended up spilling over the top of the machine.  That is what I get for not reading the directions and seeing if I was putting too much liquid into the machine.  The spill over wasn’t too bad.  Nothing a couple sprays of 409 and a rag couldn’t fix 🙂

The vanilla ice cream turned out great.  I loved the flavor and the texture was great.  I found that when left in the freezer it got pretty hard, so I would zap it in the microwave for a few second, or live it on the counter for 5 minutes to soften it up a bit.  The vanilla ice cream was the perfect combination with the Tribute to Katherine Hepburn Brownies.  It actually cut the chocolatiness (yeah, I made up a word) of the brownie and balanced it out.

 

3 Responses to “Tuesdays with Dorie: Vanilla Ice Cream”

  1. Wendy Says:

    Your vanilla ice cream looks great. I bet it was wonderful with the brownies.

  2. Clivia Says:

    Ice cream and brownies – a delicious combination. Well done!

  3. Caitlin Says:

    Makes me wish I hadn’t given away my brownies – I still have some ice cream left, and that pairing sounds just perfect!


Leave a Reply

