When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tostones August 10, 2009

Filed under: Appetizer — pastrybrush @ 7:00 am
Tags: ,

100_2261The first time I was introduced to tostones was 2 years ago.  DrFaulken decided to take me to lunch on my birthday to Kuba Kuba.  I had been hearing about their food and how great it was from Fro for a few years, and I finally got the chance to go.  The tostones were so yummy.  I can’t remember what else I got that afternoon over 2 years ago, but since then I have had their Roasted Pork, Cuban Sandwich, Turkey Press, and Tres Leches Cake.

I always wanted to try my hand at Tostones especially when I saw DrFaulken’s Mom make them back in December.  It was so simple.  Then I saw a recipe for them in Vegan Brunch.   I knew that it would happen soon.  The next time I went to the grocery store,  I finally decided to buy one plantain.  I left it on the counter for a couple of days so that it could ripen a little more, which would also give the plantain a slightly sweeter flavor.

The following is the recipe from Vegan Brunch, however, I changed some of the steps in the recipe to how DrFaulken’s Mom makes hers.

Fried Plantains aka Tostones

Source: Vegan Brunch by Isa Chandra Moskowitz

2 plantains

Vegetable oil for shallow frying

Salt, to taste, I also like to use garlic salt

Slice the plantains into 1/2 inch slices.  Preheat a heavy-bottomed skillet over medium-high heat.  add oil to the skillet until it’s 1/4 inch deep.  When the oil is hot, add half the plantains or so; just don’t over-crowd the pan.

Fry plantains for about a minute on each side.  Take them out of the skillet and place on a paper towel.  Taking one slice at a time smash with the side of a knife just to flatten.  Place back into the oil and fry until golden brown, another 1-2 minutes per sideIf you don’t want to use the side of a knife you can use a mallet or anything handy. Transfer to paper towels to drain.  Repeat with remaining plantains.  Sprinkle with salt, if you like.  Serve ASAP.

 

One Response to “Tostones”

  1. Wendy Says:

    YUM. Love plantains. Vegan Brunch is on my wishlist.


Leave a Reply

