When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays with Dorie: Applesauce Spice Bars August 18, 2009

Filed under: Baking,Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 10:25 pm
Tags: , ,

100_2287This weeks Tuesdays with Dorie was chosen by Karen of Something Sweet by Karen.  She chose Dorie’s Applesauce Spice Bars, which are located on pages 117-118 in Baking: From My Home to Yours.

It is on the counter.

I swear.  I have been waiting for the glaze to dry.

I will write a review as soon as I put one of those yummy applesauce spice bars in my mouth :)

Okay, I finally tried the applesauce spice bars this morning.  They were very yummy.  I decided to omit the nuts because I knew that I would be able to get more people the eat them :couch: without the nuts in them :)  I also ended up doubling the glaze because it seemed like a lot of members thought that there wasn’t enough to spread on the bars.  I thought the bars were nice and moist and the glaze added a punch of sweetness to it.  I love the glaze, don’t get me wrong.  But next time I might just dust them with some confectioners’ sugar because at times the glaze was a little too sweet for me

 

4 Responses to “Tuesdays with Dorie: Applesauce Spice Bars”

  1. Margaret Says:

    but they look amazing. Sweet and appley.

  2. Amanda Says:

    They look great! They would be good with just confectioner’s sugar, but I loved the glaze, it did it for me :)

  3. Jules Says:

    I skipped the glaze as well. These were pretty good.

  4. Jennifer Says:

    I really liked these and they were a hit at work. I’d definitely make them again — I must confess I really liked the glaze.

    Glad you liked them!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 461 other followers