When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays with Dorie: Espresso Cheesecake Brownies September 1, 2009

Filed under: Baking,Cheesecake,Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 7:00 am
Tags: ,

100_2300This weeks Tuesdays with Dorie was chosen by Melissa of Life in a Peanut Shell.  She picked Dorie’s Espresso Cheesecake Brownies which are located on pages 104-105 in Baking From My Home to Yours.

I was pretty happy when I saw this recipe because who doesn’t like espresso cheesecake and brownies.  I was also a little worried that since I am changing my diet up because of my recent cholesterol results that I might not be able to enjoys these as much.   I decided to use  reduced fat cream cheese and sour cream to lower the fat and cholesterol content a little.  I contemplated only making half a recipe, but then decided to go ahead and make a full recipe.

Like everyone else I left the sweetened sour cream topping off.  It wasn’t so much that I didn’t want to try it.  It was because I was taking these to a friends party and I didn’t know how everyone would like the topping and since they might sit out for a bit, I didn’t want the topping to go bad.  I ended up dusting them with a little powdered sugar to pretty them up a bit.

Just a side tip, when trying to slice cheesecake sometimes it is better if it is slightly frozen so that you can get a clean cut.  We use this trick at work a lot.  For the brownies, once they were cool I just popped them in the freezer for a bit.  They were probably in there for a total of an hour and I popped them out of the baking dish and used a really hot sharp knife to cut them.  I was able to get them out of the dish fairly easy because I used a square springform pan and lined the bottom with parchment paper.  I think this would work fine if you use a regular square baking dish and lined it with parchment, but just remember to leave a little overhang because you might have to give the brownies a little help out of the pan.

I thought these brownies were perfect, but I am a complete coffee and chocolate person.  Everyone at the party loved them too, but it isn’t that hard to make a bunch of intoxicated people happy that are playing Rock Band 🙂

 

7 Responses to “Tuesdays with Dorie: Espresso Cheesecake Brownies”

  1. Michelle Says:

    I did not leave the frosting off and Im soo glad I didn’t! It was my favorite part. Im glad you enjoyed this recipe. I am sure I will make it again!

  2. Karen Says:

    Glad everyone liked these. 🙂

  3. Jules Says:

    I skipped the topping as well. And I almost always use low fat sour cream and cream cheese for cooking. Those look yummy!

  4. They look wonderful.

  5. Wendy Says:

    I’m glad you liked them. They look great!

  6. Jeannette Says:

    holy moly your brownies look heavenly!!

  7. Margaret Says:

    ditto on the no topping. tried it didn’t like it.

    Yours look just great.


Leave a Reply

