When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Chocolate Souffle September 8, 2009

Filed under: Baking,Souffle,Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 2:16 pm
Tags: ,

100_2306This weeks Tuesdays with Dorie is brought to you by the letter S.

As in Susan of She’s Becoming DoughMessTic.

She chose Dorie’s Chocolate Soufflé, which is located on page 406 in Baking: From My Home to Yours.

It has been awhile since I have made a chocolate soufflé or just a soufflé in general.  I actually remember the first time that I ever had a soufflé, it was at Carmelo’s back home in Houston, TX.  Since they make this to order you always had to order it before the meal so that they could time it to be finished baking right at the end of the meal.  We only would get it every once in a while because it is kind of a pain in the ass to get right.  As all of us have experience one time or another.  If I am remembering correctly it was a Vanilla Soufflé and it had a white dessert sauce with it.  It has been over 15 years, but I remember it being white in color 🙂  I do remember once that we ordered it and it fell before it got to the table so we were given it for free.  Which was nice and it still tasted fantastic.

The soufflé came together without too much incident.  I did have one problem.  I ended up wasting 3 egg whites because I was separating them and the yolk fell into the whites and I couldn’t remove it all.  Instead of saving the contaminated whites and making eggs later, I wasn’t thinking and threw them away :/  Oh well.

The soufflé ended up baking up perfectly and actually tasted very good.  It wasn’t too sweet and had the flavor of the chocolate.  I ended up serving it straight out of the oven with cool whip on top.  It was very yummy 🙂

 

6 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie: Chocolate Souffle”

  1. Michelle Says:

    Yum it looks great to me. I am glad you enjoyed this dessert!

  2. Jules Says:

    Totally didn’t work for me. Yours looks great!

  3. Karen Says:

    Looks good. Bummer about the eggs. 😦

  4. Look at the rise you got on that souffle! Impressive.

  5. Margaret Says:

    beautiful height. Great job.

  6. Wendy Says:

    NIce puffage!


Leave a Reply

