When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays with Dorie: Flaky Apple Turnovers September 15, 2009

Filed under: Baking,Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 2:54 pm
Tags: ,

100_2318This weeks Tuesdays with Dorie was selected by Julie of Someone’s in the Kitchen.  She chose Dorie’s Flaky Apply Turnovers which are located on pages 316-317 in Baking: From My Home to Yours.

Apples, Cinnamon….what else in this world pairs perfectly together?

Yes, I know a lot of stuff.  But just let me imagine nothing else does 🙂

When I made the dough this afternoon, I thought wow this is easy.  While the dough had its rest time in the fridge I watched Buffy and had my rest time on the couch.  I got everything put together and the turnovers looked great before going into the oven.

AND THEN…

I was brushing them with egg wash and a seam starts to come apart and leak yummy apple juice everywhere.  I reseal it and place them in the oven.  I checked the oven a minute later and all of the seams are opening and juice is everywhere.

GRRRR!!!

Now I realize that there is nothing wrong with an ugly apple turnover.  As long as it tastes good, I am a happy camper.  But all of the thick apply goodness is leaking out and that is my favorite part.  While I waited for these to come out of the oven, I was dreading the sticky mess that was leaking all over the sheet pan that I would have to clean later :/ Thank God for Silpat

I ended up baking these bad boys for 25 minutes and they actually look pretty decent and all the filling didn’t completely come out.  I only made 1/3 of the recipe and I ended up with 6 turnovers.  Out of the six, one turned out beautiful it that “I am kinda messy but you can still see the beauty in me” way.  You can actually see the layers in the bottom half of the pastry and it puffed up beautifully.

The results, YUMMY!!!!!

FYI I wrote the end of this post 4 times and the first two times I loved what I wrote and wordpress didn’t save it right.  I swear it wasn’t user error.  I keep having to try to remember what witty comment I made and of course when you try to think back it never comes out as good as it did the first time.

 

4 Responses to “Tuesdays with Dorie: Flaky Apple Turnovers”

  1. Jules Says:

    I’m glad that these were enjoyed. I ate the apple/caramel stuff right off the silpat. Thanks for baking with me!

  2. uclala Says:

    That is an amazing flaky apple turnover!! I love the puffiness in it, it’s the first one I’ve seen that puffed soo much! You have great pie dough skills – I’m envious! =)

  3. Wendy Says:

    Your turnover looks great. I’m glad you liked them!

  4. Margaret Says:

    They look yummy. Flaky and delicious.


Leave a Reply

