When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Cottage Cheese Pufflets September 22, 2009

Filed under: Baking,Cookies,Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 8:44 pm
Tags: ,

100_2341This weeks Tuesdays with Dorie was chosen by Jacque of Daisy Lane Cakes.  She chose Dorie’s Cottage Cheese Pufflets which are located on pages 148-149 in Baking: From My Home to Yours.

Every time I saw the title to this recipe I kept thinking that it was something savory until I actually read the recipe through.  Like a lot of the members I had problems with this dough being a little sticky, and I even added a little more flour to the dough and covered my table in flour before rolling it out.  It was a little temperamental.  After messing up half the dough and throwing it out, I ended up rolling out really small quantities of dough to make it easier on myself.

I  filled these babies with homemade peach-blackberry jam.  The pufflets are very yummy and perfect when you want a sweet treat that isn’t crazy sweet.  You could probably fill this dough with just about anything and it would taste yummy, sweet or savory.

 

7 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie: Cottage Cheese Pufflets”

  1. Clivia Says:

    I agree that the name was deceiving. But they were yummy. Glad you enjoyed!

  2. Ms. PH Says:

    I think something savory would be very good in these! Maybe I will try those next!

  3. Michelle Says:

    The dough was crazy but the outcome of the Pufflets was fantastic! Your look great!

  4. Jennifer H. Says:

    I wasn’t sure how this would taste, but I really liked it. I didn’t have too much trouble with the dough. Glad you liked them!

  5. julessomeone Says:

    Glad you enjoyed it. These were not worth the effort for me.

  6. Margaret Says:

    They look tasty.

    One of the TWDers made savory with ham and cheese. They looked good too.

    Glad these worked for you.

  7. Jacque Says:

    Yes, I agree these would be perfect with a savory filling. Yours look so perfect!

    Thanks for baking along this week 🙂


Leave a comment