When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Split Level Pudding October 6, 2009

Filed under: Ganache,Pudding,Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 10:08 am
Tags: ,

100_2375This weeks Tuesdays with Dorie was chosen by Garrett of Flavor of Vanilla.  He chose Dorie’s Split Level Pudding which is located on pages 384-385. This recipe is actually a chocolate ganache and vanilla pudding combination.  With Dorie’s suggestions in “Playing Around,” I decided to make the top pudding cinnamon pudding instead of vanilla.  As luck would have it I actually had extra ganache from the previous weeks recipe and a tiny bit more of heavy cream left so I thinned out the leftover ganache.

I only made 2/3 of the recipe, and because I didn’t want to dirty another dish, I didn’t use my food processor.  I mixed the egg yolks, a little milk, cornstarch, and rest of the sugar in a bowl.  When the milk came to a boil I tempered the egg yolk mixture and then placed it back on the heat to thicken up.  Once it started to pop bubbles at me, I took it off the heat and then added the butter and vanilla extract.  They turned out great and I didn’t have any problems with the pudding not setting.

Wow, these little babies are fantastic.  The chocolate and the cinnamon were perfect together.

 

6 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie: Split Level Pudding”

  1. Clivia Says:

    I agree it was fantastic. I wish I’d made as much ganache as you did. I wanted more chocolate.

  2. Jules Says:

    That looks just delicious. The husband doesn’t like chocolate and cinnamon. He’s missing out.

  3. Karen Says:

    glad this turned out so well for you. They look adorable! 🙂

  4. Mo Says:

    Sounds delicious!

  5. Melissa Says:

    I made cinnamon version, too, but I think I put too much – mine was all brown and speckled. Tasted great, but the look wasn’t the best. I didn’t use the food processor, either, and it turned out perfect – and I didn’t have to dirty a bunch more dishes, either.

    Glad you liked it. 🙂

  6. Wendy Says:

    Your pudding looks great! I’m glad you liked it.


Leave a Reply

