When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

VeganMoFo: Pumpkin Pancake with POM-Ginger Cranberry Sauce October 7, 2009

100_2382I didn’t think these bad boys were going to happen because I wasn’t sure if cranberries were in season in my area yet.  But lo and behold while wandering through the grocery store I spotted  the fresh berries.  At that moment, I knew that I would be eating these the next morning.

As I sit here writing this entry, I am actually eating these fantastic pumpkin pancakes with POM-Ginger Cranberry Sauce.  The sauce goes perfectly with the pancakes.  It is like a celebration of fall in my mouth.  Pumpkin, spices, tart cranberries, and a hint of sweetness.  Perfect 🙂  Both of these recipes are from Vegan Brunch by Isa Chandra Moskowitz; however, I did tweak the Cranberry Sauce a little.

Since I recently received a case of Pomegranate juice from POM Wonderful, I decided to incorporate the juice into the cranberry sauce for a little bit more tartness.  I substituted half of the juice for the water and it worked out perfectly.  Also, I discovered I was out of fresh ginger so I used 1/2 tsp of ground ginger.

I never thought I was a fan of Pomegranate juice but once I tasted it it reminded me of a mixture of cranberry juice because of the tartness and grape juice because of the sweetness.  I guess I am a convert now.  An extra added bonus is that it can help lower LDL  (bad cholesterol), which I am currently trying to do at age 27.  Damn genetics and its fury little hands.

Back to the yumminess at hand.  If you don’t own Vegan Brunch, you need to get it now.  Especially since that is the only way you are going to find out how these pumpkin pancakes taste.  To give you some incentive I will provide you with my tweaked up version of the cranberry sauce.  Happy Eating 🙂

POM-Ginger Cranberry Sauce

Adapted from Ginger Cranberry Sauce in Vegan Brunch by Isa Chandra Moskowitz

2 cups fresh cranberries

3/4 cup 100% Pomegranate juice

1/2 cup water

1/3 cup sugar

1/2 tsp ground ginger

1/4 cup pure maple syrup

Mix together cranberries, juice, water, sugar, and ground ginger in a sauce pan. Cover and bring to a boil.  Lower the heat a bit and let simmer for about 10 minutes.   Uncover and let simmer until mixture is reduced by about half, 10 minutes or so.  Remove from heat and let cool for at least half an hour and stir in maple syrup.  Serve warm.

 

2 Responses to “VeganMoFo: Pumpkin Pancake with POM-Ginger Cranberry Sauce”

  1. Melisser Says:

    While I’m not a fan of POM as a company, I’d love some of those pumpkin pancakes!

  2. Wendy Says:

    Love cranberry and pumpkin. YUM!


Leave a Reply

