When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Vegan Apple Allspice Muffins October 13, 2009

Filed under: Baking,Muffins,Tuesdays With Dorie,Vegan — pastrybrush @ 7:00 am
Tags:

100_2392This weeks Tuesdays with Dorie is brought to you by Kayte of Grandma’s Kitchen Table.  She chose Dorie’s Allspice Muffins which are located on pages 16-17 in Baking: From My Home to Yours.  I was really looking forward to making this recipe  and then I tasted a Vegan Apple Struesel Muffin at Ellwood’s Coffee, and it was fantastic.  I knew at that moment that I was going to try to recreate the muffin using Dorie’s recipe.  I also chose the vegan options because this month is Vegan Month of Food (VeganMoFo).

To make this recipe vegan I substituted canola oil for the butter in the batter, used Ener-G Egg Replacer for the eggs, and Earth Balance Vegan Buttery Sticks for the crumb topping.  I also added one Granny Smith apple, peeled, cored, and diced to the batter.

I thought that these muffins would be a little bit better with some cinnamon added to the batter.  However, I decided not to add it to the batter since the title dictates that these be allspice muffins, so I refrained.  The final product was very moist and yummy.

 

4 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie: Vegan Apple Allspice Muffins”

  1. They look fabulous.

  2. Karen Says:

    Yum! Those look delicious!

  3. julessomeone Says:

    Looks good! Nice job with the substitutions.

  4. Kayte Says:

    Your muffins look very wonderful and I enjoyed reading about your substitutions…always about the learning, and the blogs are great for that. I think you are right, the recipe lends itself very nicely to adding and subtracting ingredients to arrive at the perfect ones for you! Thanks for baking with me this week.


Leave a Reply

