When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Pumpkin Biscuits…Vegan Style October 20, 2009

Filed under: Baking,Tuesdays With Dorie,Vegan — pastrybrush @ 4:38 pm
Tags: , ,

100_2427This weeks Tuesdays with Dorie was chosen by Erin of Prudence Pennywise.  She chose Dorie’s Sweet Potato Biscuits which are located on page 26 in Baking: From My Home to Yours.  All last week, I kept thinking if making these pumpkin would be okay.  Then I strolled on over to the comments section and somebody asked the question I was thinking, and Laurie actually came back with what to do via Dorie.

Yeah, that sounded completely confusing 🙂

I ended up making these late last night.  Yay, for procrastination baking.

If you want to make the recipe pumpkin you have to add the following to the recipe: 2 tbsp flour, 2 tbsp granulated sugar, and 3/4 – 1 cup pumpkin puree.   I also decided to up the spices and I added a pinch of the following: ground ginger, nutmeg, cinnamon, and cloves.  The spices added a hint of that pumpkin spice flavor in the background.  Finally, to make these vegan I just substituted 6 tbsp of  Earth Balance Vegan  Buttery Sticks for the 6 tbsp of unsalted butter.

These turned out GREAT.  I heated a few up in the microwave :SHOCK: and added some spread to them this morning for breakfast.  I have to say that mine were not as flakey as others, but I would be to blame on that front.  I man handled the dough 🙂  But as biscuits go, I would more than likely make these again if I had some extra pumpkin on hand.

 

3 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie: Pumpkin Biscuits…Vegan Style”

  1. Clivia Says:

    Your biscuits look so light and fluffy. Tastewise, I’m sure they benefitted from the extra spices.

  2. Karen Says:

    They look like they rose really well! 🙂 Yum!

  3. […] that I made the biscuits as close to the recipe as possible.  I have made vegan biscuits before (Pumpkin and Regular) and with most biscuit recipes you just have to replace the milk and the fat that you […]


Leave a Reply

