When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Cherry-Fudge Brownie Torte October 27, 2009

Filed under: Baking,Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 1:30 pm
Tags: , , , ,

100_2475This weeks Tuesdays with Dorie is brought to you by April of Short + Rose.  She chose Dorie’s Cherry-Fudge Brownie Torte which is located on pages 284-285 in Baking: From My Home to Yours.  I have been very intrigued by this recipe because Dorie based it off of a Black Forest Cake with a TWIST. For this recipe, I decided to divide it in half and bake it in a 6 x 2 inch round pan.  It baked up perfectly, and then I discovered (after it was almost cool) that the inside wasn’t completely done so I had to put it back in the oven for 15 more minutes.

I decided to use rum instead of kirsch since I had rum on hand and didn’t feel like buying a 750 ml of Kirsch because the liquor store didn’t carry airplane bottles of it 😦  I was hoping to finish this recipe in time to take it to my Nanny and PaPa’s but with having to bake it again it threw off my whole planning schedule.  While I was making this I was also putting together a birthday cake and doing my Daring Bakers’ Challenge.  Can you say procrastinator?

This turned out pretty good.  I liked the flavor, however, it is rich so I can only have it is small doses.  I have no idea what to do with it now because I currently have no one to give it away to now.

 

5 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie: Cherry-Fudge Brownie Torte”

  1. Susan Says:

    Your torte looks great. I drizzled some cherry jam over the top of mine too! 🙂

  2. uclala Says:

    Wow, your torte looks Beautiful!! I love the piping you did on top of the mousse! I made the full recipe and thank goodness left it with my sister’s family so I know how you feel being left with too much sweetness around the home! =)

  3. Amanda Says:

    Love the design on top! We thought this was out of this world 🙂

  4. Mo Says:

    Oh. my. goodness. That looks fab!

  5. April Says:

    Thank you for baking with me this week! Your torte looks great, I often have the problem of too many sweet leftovers too. Happy Baking!


Leave a Reply

