When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Cran-Apple Crisps November 3, 2009

Filed under: Baking,Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 9:45 am
Tags: , ,

100_2482For this month, we have been given an option to post about any of the November Recipes as long as it is on a Tuesday.  Since I was having issues finding all the ingredients for the Chocolate Caramel Chestnut Cake, I decided to make the Cran-Apple Crips instead.  Fear not, I will be making the Chocolate Caramel Chestnut Cake after I order the Chestnut Spread.  Believe me I checked everywhere: Whole Foods, Fresh Market, and local grocery stories

Todays  Tuesdays With Dorie was chosen by Em of The Repressed Pastry Chef.  She chose Dorie’s Cran-Apple Crisps which are located on page 422 in Baking: From My Home to Yours. I was very happy when this recipe popped up because my parents just came to visit and brought me Granny Smith Apples from a local orchard and who doesn’t like apples and cranberries together 🙂

For this recipe, I decided to bake it in my large Souffle dish.  Probably wasn’t the best idea, but I did it anyway.  It turned out pretty good except I think it need to cook little longer but the top was starting to darken.  I did cover it in foil and wait until the juices start to bubble. I think next time I will definitely go with a pie pan 🙂  I thought that the crisp was fantastic.  I loved the cinnamon and coconut in the crust.  I actually got someone that doesn’t like coconut at all to eat this and he loved it.  I will definitely be making this again.

 

5 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie: Cran-Apple Crisps”

  1. Looks great.

    I posted the cookies today.

  2. Jules Says:

    I didn’t mind the coconut either! This was pretty yummy.

  3. Susan Says:

    I am planning this for Thanksgiving dessert. Can’t wait. Yours looks delicious. I made my own Chestnut spread for the Chocolate Caramel Chestnut cake and I know at least one other TWD did the same.

  4. pamela Says:

    Looks wonderful! I’m not usually a crisp fan, but I loved this one. Can’t wait to see how the cake turns out for you.

  5. Margaret Says:

    Looks perfect. Anxious to make it this next week.


Leave a Reply

