When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays with Dorie: Chocolate Caramel Chestnut Cake November 17, 2009

This weeks out of order Tuesdays with Dorie was chosen by Katya of Second Dinner.  She chose Dorie’s Chocolate Caramel Chestnut Cake, which is located on pages 269-272 in Baking: From My Home to Yours.

The picture of this cake in Dorie’s book is beautiful.  I thought about going the same route as Dorie and making it in a square cake pan, but I couldn’t do that to myself.  I do own one.  I think it is because where I work I am use to glazing round cakes with chocolate.  Holding the cake in one hand, while simultaneously pouring chocolate glaze and turning the cake.  It take a bit getting use to, but I knew I could do it and have it come out pretty good.  I also decided to finally use my adjustable round cake form that I got last year for my birthday.

I built the cake inside of the form, place it in the fridge to set up (3 hrs), un-molded the cake, and smoothed out the icing on the top and sides.  I placed the cake in the fridge again to get firm before I poured the glaze over the cake.  I was surprised that everything turned out so well.  I should have taken a picture of the inside of the cake, but I ended up taking to my Nanny’s house and then it went down to the shop so the rest of it would get eaten.  I loved the taste of the cake.  It wasn’t too sweet, and one slice was just enough.

The ingredients for this cake was a little hard to find.  I was surprisingly able to find jarred chestnuts at my local grocery store, however, they didn’t have the spread.  I ended up ordering the Chestnut Spread from The Frenchy Bee.  My order was fulfilled in a timely manner and I got the product rather quickly.  I don’t know if I will ever make this cake again because it is a little pricey, but it was very delicious.

 

9 Responses to “Tuesdays with Dorie: Chocolate Caramel Chestnut Cake”

  1. Amanda Says:

    Gorgeous! I made the cran-apple crisp this week, so good!

  2. Oh. It is lovely.

    I don’t have a square pan, so I was wondering what it would look like baked in a round one.

  3. Nina Says:

    Wow–your cake looks perfect! Love that you used the round pans!

  4. Leslie Says:

    I think your cake looks better than the photo in the book! Absolutely perfect!

  5. pamela Says:

    The cake looks so pretty! I haven’t made this yet, and truthfully, I don’t know if I will. It looks wonderful, though!

  6. tia Says:

    i don’t think you could have a more perfectly smooth top! awesome.

  7. Adelina Says:

    Your cake looks absolutely lovely.
    Did you have a difficult time preparing the caramel ganache? I’ve read somewhere where a few people had some challenges with it.

    Thanks for posting and for sharing!

    • pastrybrush Says:

      Adelina – I didn’t have any trouble preparing the caramel ganache at all. I have made caramel and ganache a good amount at home and at work. I will usually go by the color of the caramel more than the temperature bc I have had problems with my caramel tasting burnt if I went completely by temperature.


Leave a Reply

