When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Citrus Sablés December 8, 2009

Filed under: Baking,Cookies,Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 9:35 pm
Tags: , ,

This weeks Tuesdays with Dorie is  brought to you by Barbara of Bungalow Barbara.  She chose Dorie’s Sablés which are located on pages 131-133 in Baking: From My Home to Yours.  Sablés are essentially a shortbread cookie.  For this recipe I decided to play around and use the zest of half of an orange and half of a lemon.  I figured since they already had half of their zest gone from last weeks Rosy Poached Pear and Pistachio Tart, that I should go ahead and use it 🙂

I rolled the Sablés in a mixture of red and green sugars, since I am currently out of plain white decorating sugar.  These little cookies are fantastic.  If I am not careful, I will eat them all.  I might have to make some more and include them in the cookies that I give to my family for Christmas.  More than likely I will be making the same cookies and adding a few more.  Here are the two posts I did last year: Part 1 and Part 2

 

4 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie: Citrus Sablés”

  1. Clivia Says:

    I’ve had a few sables today myself. Yours look lovely!

  2. michelle Says:

    They are so tempting, aren’t they! My husband has really enjoyed them too and he usually likes cookies with just chocolate in them!

  3. Thank you for baking along with me this week!

    I’m glad you liked them! They are going to be in my Christmas cookie assortment this year, too — and most likely in years to come! Plus my Mom wants more of the Lenox Almond Biscotti and my sister said the home-made caramels were fabulous…

  4. pamela Says:

    Yum! I like the idea of using the orange and the lemon together. Sounds refreshing and delicious. Very pretty!


Leave a Reply

