When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays with Dorie: My Favorite Pecan Pie December 29, 2009

Filed under: Baking,Pie,Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 1:39 pm
Tags: , , ,

Last weeks Tuesdays with Dorie was brought to you by Beth of Someone’s in the Kitchen with Brina.  She chose Dorie’s Favorite Pecan Pie located on page 327 in Baking: From My Home to Yours. Okay, I love pecan pie.  I think it is just fantastic and I almost didn’t make this one because Mike doesn’t really like nuts and neither do members of his family.  I made Mike call his parents and ask if they like Pecan Pie.  His mom loves it and his dad doesn’t really like it but said that since there was chocolate in it he would give it a try.  So, I actually did make this recipe last week and took it over to his parents.

Sorry for the craptastic picture.  I was using my camera phone because I forgot to bring my real camera with me 🙂

It was still a little warm when we cut into it, and the pieces came out of the pie plate without too much struggle.  I ended up only having a small pie.  Mike and I really liked the addition of the cinnamon, but I think that I would back off on the chocolate next time.  There isn’t even that much chocolate in the recipe (3 oz), but I think I would like more pecan pie flavor then chocolate next time.  All in all I really like the recipe, but next time I might reduce the chocolate to 2 oz and give it a shot

 

3 Responses to “Tuesdays with Dorie: My Favorite Pecan Pie”

  1. Wendy Says:

    Your pie looks great!

  2. Clivia Says:

    Looks delicious! I agree that next time I’d leave out the chocolate.

  3. Susan Says:

    Glad you guys liked it. I thought the chocolate was perfect, but that’s what makes the world go round. 🙂


Leave a Reply

