When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: 2nd Anniversary: Cocoa-Buttermilk Birthday Cake January 5, 2010

This weeks Tuesdays with Dorie was chosen by the members of Tuesdays with Dorie.  We were given the choice to either make Dorie’s Cocoa-Buttermilk Birthday Cake or Tarte Tartin, which are located on pages 256-257 and 312-313, respectively, in Baking: From My Home to Yours.  I decided to make the Cocoa-Buttermilk Birthday Cake because who wouldn’t want a yummy piece of chocolate cake for their birthday/anniversary 🙂

Tuesdays with Dorie was founded by the wonderful Laurie of Slush.  She wanted to bake a recipe a week from Dorie’s Baking: From My Home to Yours and decided that she needed a little nudge and asked others to join her.  It has been 2  years since she started the group and I must say that I am so happy to be a member of this group.  When I started my blog 1.5 years ago, I was just searching the internet for ideas and came across this group and I haven’t looked back.  Each recipe is a chance to try something new and yummy.

Okay, Cocoa-Buttermilk Birthday Cake.  I have seen that you have been giving some of the other members a problem.  Mostly in the icing area.  More than a handful of the members were not having very much success with the Chocolate Malt Buttercream.  The most prevalent complaint was the grainy texture and that it didn’t come together right.  This made me not want to make the icing and I knew I had extra Coffee Buttercream that I could use in a pinch.

What to do? What to do?

I went into the Tuesdays With Dorie Bible and looked at the directions for the buttercream to see if I could modify the steps to get the smooth consistency that everyone looks for in a buttercream.  While looking over the recipe I noticed that it was possible to accomplish this task, it just took a little more time to do.

I found that by doing the buttercream this way (directions below) that I was able to get a smooth frosting that was tasty and looked great on the cupcakes.  The cupcakes tasted great, and chocolaty.  The buttercream and cake were the perfect combination.  To make 12 cupcakes I halved the recipe for the cake and buttercream and baked the cupcakes for 20 minutes at 350°F.

Chocolate Malt Buttercream – Alternate Directions

In a small saucepan over low heat combine ALL of the brown sugar, malted milk powder (I used Ovaltine), and ALL of the water.  Mix until the sugar has dissolved, then add the bittersweet chocolate and cocoa powder and continue to stir until the chocolate has melted, set aside to cool.

Beat the butter until fluffy.  Add your salt, vanilla, and sifted confectioners’ sugar and beat until combined and smooth, it will be very thick.  Add the cooled chocolate mixture to the butter and beat until light and thick, remember to scrape down the sides of the bowl.

If your chocolate was still warm when you mix it with the butter, just pop the buttercream in the freezer for 5 minutes and then take it out and beat it for a minute and it should thicken enough for you.

 

7 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie: 2nd Anniversary: Cocoa-Buttermilk Birthday Cake”

  1. LW Says:

    Love your cupcakes and love even more than you seemed to find a way to help out other TWD’ers who had issues with the frosting. You rock! Thanks so much for baking along with me, all this time. xo

  2. Jodie Says:

    Looks great. Thanks for the tips on the frosting- mine was grainy. I’ll have to try your way next time!

  3. Karen Says:

    Glad your buttercream turned out so well. My frosting was a little grainy but still yummy! 🙂

  4. Michelle Says:

    Yum your frosting looks so moist and delicious! Great idea to make cupcakes!

  5. pamela Says:

    Those cupcakes look wonderful. I made the tarte this week, but I’ll have to try the cake sometime soon and use your frosting directions.

  6. Jules Says:

    That looks delicious. I should make more cupcakes.

  7. Margaret Says:

    Cuppys look great. Would rather have cup cakes than a huge cake. So much easier to eat.


Leave a Reply

