When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Chocolate Oatmeal Almost-Candy Bars January 19, 2010

Filed under: Baking,Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 12:06 pm
Tags: , , ,

This weeks Tuesdays With Dorie was chosen by Lillian of Confectiona’s Realm.  She chose Dorie’s Chocolate Oatmeal Almost-Candy Bars which is located on pages 114-115 in Baking: From My Home to Yours. Once I saw the ingredients in this bar, I knew that I would love them.

But we had a problem.

I just started the zone diet and knew that these could not be kept in the house for any period of time because I would munch on them.  The plan, make half a recipe and use a 8x8x3 pan, then give all of them away.  The plan worked.  I did however eat one just so that I knew what it tasted like 🙂  It was yummy, and I was in heaven.  I took them over to my in-laws and they loved them, and then Mike took them to work.  I would definitely make them again, but be care because they are addicting.

 

4 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie: Chocolate Oatmeal Almost-Candy Bars”

  1. Mary Says:

    Good idea to give these away immediately, as there is nothing compatible with a diet in them! Well, maybe a few things, but not bound with butter, sugar and condensed milk. I need to donate mine to someone before I eat them all:)

  2. Hornedfroggy Says:

    They look heavenly! I can’t wait to get home and have another one! 🙂

  3. Susan Says:

    I also sent most of these out of my house. They were too good to keep around. Love the powdered sugar dusting!

  4. Michelle Says:

    They look great and I think they taste better then any candybar I ‘ve had!


Leave a Reply

