When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Milk Chocolate Mini Bundt Cakes February 2, 2010

Filed under: Baking,Ganache,Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 11:30 pm
Tags: , ,

This weeks Tuesdays With Dorie was chosen by Kristin of I’m Right About Everything.  She chose Dorie’s Milk Chocolate Mini Bundt Cakes which is located on pages 188-189 in Baking: From My Home to Yours.

First thought, mmmm chocolate 🙂

Second thought, crap I don’t have a mini bundt pan.

Final thought, CUPCAKES!!!!

Okay, for this recipe I modified it A LOT.  Mainly because I didn’t want to use all my good chocolate if I was going to give them away.  I know.  I am selfish with my chocolate.  IT is mine ALL MINE 🙂  I know you are thinking, “What on earth did she do if she didn’t use the good chocolate?”  Answer, “I substituted cocoa powder, sugar, and butter for it.”  I also decided to substitute vegetable oil for the previous 1/2 cup of butter in the recipe.

Don’t ask.  Once I changed one thing I figured why not, and common sense really didn’t play too much into the method of my madness.

I mixed together 1 cup cocoa powder, 3/4 cup + 2 tbsp sugar, and 7 tbsp melted butter together and set it aside.  I then proceeded with the rest of the recipe and used oil instead of butter, and when the recipe called to add the melted chocolate I added my cocoa powder concoction.  The recipe made the perfect amount for 12 cupcakes and they actually baked up perfectly.

Now, once I took them out of the pan I realized that the outsides were really hard and was hoping the inside wasn’t.  I was pleasantly surprised when the inside was the consistency of a cake brownie.  I would describe them as a brownie cupcake because they have the outside crunchiness of the brownie edges and the inside cakeyness of a brownie.  Important tip: don’t eat like a cupcake, cut them in half first 🙂 For the icing I just made a basic chocolate ganache (4 oz bittersweet chocolate and 1/2 cup heavy cream) and dipped the tops of the cupcakes in the ganache once it thickened.

Conclusion, VERY YUMMY but you might want to have a giant glass of milk nearby 🙂

 

3 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie: Milk Chocolate Mini Bundt Cakes”

  1. alvarosa Says:

    wow, they look so soft inside, wonderful!
    (btw. – love the name of your blog :o])

  2. Kristen Says:

    They look great! Thanks for baking with me this week!


Leave a Reply

