When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: My Best Chocolate Chip Cookies February 16, 2010

Filed under: Baking,Cookies,Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 9:05 pm
Tags: , ,

This weeks Tuesdays with Dorie was chosen by Kait of Kait’s Plate.  She chose Dorie’s Best Chocolate Chip Cookies which is located on page 68 in Baking: From My Home to Yours.

Who doesn’t love a chocolate chip cookie?

Okay, who doesn’t love one with walnuts?

And finally, who doesn’t love eating straight cookie dough?

Answer:  Everyone loves it or at least I do 🙂

So to recap, I LOVE me some chocolate chips cookies and so does Mike.  He has been looking forward to the recipe because that means he can eat all of the cookies and not share.  Which is fine with me because I really shouldn’t be trying to eat all the cookies anyways 🙂

This recipe was really straight forward, and DAMN the cookie dough was fantastic.  I could have sat there all day and just eaten  straight out of the bowl.  The trick to baking these was finding the right amount of time to keep them in the oven.  At 12 minutes it was a little too brown for my taste.  At 11 minutes it was more of my style and taste, and Mike preferred the 10 minute mark.  But all of the cookies tasted fantastic no matter what.  I love the vanilla flavor.  I actually used a Mexican Vanilla, which was very tasty.  I stood by my go to chocolate chips, Ghirardelli 60% Cacao Bittersweet Chocolate Chips, and used finely chopped walnuts.

All I have to say is yummy 🙂

 

4 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie: My Best Chocolate Chip Cookies”

  1. Mary Says:

    I agree about the dough–it’s a wonder I got any baked at all. I used pecans, and they were pretty yummy baked too.

  2. pamela Says:

    Some things are best when you don’t have to share! They look great.

  3. Michelle Says:

    Im glad you enjoyed these cookies too. I thought they were good and apparently so did my family because they were gone in a day! YOur cookies look great!
    I hope your baking with me next week, I can’t believe it’s my turn to host..where did a year and a half go!?

  4. Margaret Says:

    Ditto on the flavor, but didn’t like the flatness of the cookie. Dough. Was. Good!!!

    Yours look just fine.


Leave a Reply

