When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Toasted-Coconut Custard Tart March 2, 2010

This weeks Tuesdays with Dorie was chosen by Beryl of Cinemon Girl.  She chose Dorie’s Toasted-Coconut Custard Tart, which is located on pages 344-345 in Baking: From My Home to Yours.  I love coconut stuff, but unfortunately my husband has this weird aversion to it.  When we first met he told me that when he was a kid they ate raw coconut at school and he had a reaction to it.  So he stands firm that he is allergic to it,  but I proved him wrong one day when he ate a Thai dish that I made that had coconut milk in it.  Come to find out, he doesn’t mind the flavor but he hates the texture of shredded coconut.

Oh, how can  you not like shredded coconut.  So in the 7 years that we have been together I have avoiding making anything with shredded coconut in it because he doesn’t want to eat it.  I have sacrificed not eating one of my favorite cakes (German’s Chocolate Cake) because of this.

I say no more 🙂  One, I am going to make this tart and he is going to love it because RUM makes everything better. Two, my precious German’s Chocolate Cake will be mine again (for a future entry).

Anytime I think of coconut pie or a coconut custard pie, I think of my Nanny’s pie.  It is just a baked coconut custard pie with no toppings, unless you turn down my Nanny’s offer of ice cream also 🙂  So, that is what I imagine for this.  But as it turns out this is more of a rum flavored pastry cream with coconut added to it.  Which is actually very tasty.  I think if I was giving this to a coconut loving crowd, I would add 1 tsp of coconut flavor or maybe more to get the right flavor.

While making this I decided that I needed to make it a little lower in fat since I might be the only one eating it.  I used 1 % Milk for the custard, and instead of whipping cream for the top I bought a small tub of Cool Whip Lite 🙂  I thought that this was a fantastic tart.  Now I just have to wait for Mike to come home to try to to see what his verdict is.

 

5 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie: Toasted-Coconut Custard Tart”

  1. Michelle Says:

    I hope Mike likes it too! My family really enjoyed eating this luscious tart!

    • pastrybrush Says:

      He liked the flavor but the texture was throwing him off, but he did eat the entire piece I gave him 🙂

  2. julessomeone Says:

    You even made coconut look good!

  3. Marthe Says:

    Loved this, I’m so glad I made it!!

  4. Margaret Says:

    Good on Mike for trying it. YAY!!! They ARE trainable…..

    Tart is beautiful.


Leave a Reply

