When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays with Dorie: Thumbprints For Us Big Guys March 9, 2010

This weeks Tuesdays with Dorie was chosen by Mike of Ugly Food Dude.  He chose Dorie’s Thumbprints For Us Big Guys, which is located on pages 164-165 in Baking: From My Home to Yours.  The base of the recipe reminds me of my Mom’s Butterball cookies, which use walnuts instead of hazelnuts and contain no jam.  For this recipe, I used walnuts because I didn’t think that I had hazelnuts in the house.  Which come to find out that I did after I made the recipe 🙂  I also used raspberry preserves with seeds because that is how I roll.

The cookies turned out great.  I chose to make half a recipe because I currently have no place to put 60 cookies, and my stomach is a no fly zone.  Even though I did eat one cookie and a cupcake, but we will just ignore that fact and move on 🙂  When you bite into the cookie it is like the perfect butter cookie that dissolves in your mouth, and then you hit the sweetness of the raspberry preserves and it brings it all together.

In hindsight I should have made a whole batch because 1) they are yummy and 2) Mike informed me he needed to take something to a pot luck at work tomorrow.  I guess the 24 cookies will have to do.

 

3 Responses to “Tuesdays with Dorie: Thumbprints For Us Big Guys”

  1. Jules Says:

    These were pretty yummy. Yours look delicious!

  2. Michelle Says:

    I loved these cookies too. Yours look great..like jewels!

  3. pamela Says:

    Your cookies look absolutely perfect! Hope they were enjoyed at the potluck.


Leave a Reply

