When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays with Dorie: Dulce de Leche Duos March 23, 2010

Filed under: Cookies,Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 10:52 pm
Tags:

This weeks Tuesdays with Dorie was chosen by Jodie of Beansy Loves Cake.  She chose Dorie’s Dulce de Leche Duos which are located on page 161 in Baking: From My Home to Yours.

I MADE IT

with 1.5 hours to spare 🙂

The excuse for not completing the cookies earlier in the day is: I got called into work.

I was going about my morning activities on my day off and I had just made the cookie dough.  I placed it in the fridge to firm up while I ran the rest of my errands, and the phone rings.  It was work asking if I could come in for 3 hours.

Sure, okay…so I didn’t get around to baking the cookies until 8pm.  It took a little bit more time than usual because I decided that I wanted to add some decorations to the cookies because brown on brown for cookies is pretty dull.

Chocolate Drizzle is always the answer.

Essentially this a sandwich cookie that has dulce de leche sauce in the cookie and sandwiched between them.  I used one jar of purchased dulce de leche sauce for the dough and for the filling I mixed the excess from the first jar and then made David Lebovitz Dulce de leche from sweetened condensed milk because I didn’t feel like making a trip to the grocery store just for more sauce.  Everything actually came together without a hitch.

The chocolate drizzle was refusing to set on the cookies because the kitchen was warm, so I popped the cookies in the freezer for about a minute and they set up nicely.  I proceeded to fill them and placed the tops on.  Verdict, they are very yummy and I like the contrast of the chocolate with it, but I get a weird milk after taste in my mouth.  However, I think these would go great with a cup of coffee which would cleanse the milk taste from my palette.  I tried a couple of cookies unfilled with drizzle and I think I might prefer them that way.  There is a slight sweet and almost maple flavor that the cookie gives off that is nice, and they are chewy 🙂

 

12 Responses to “Tuesdays with Dorie: Dulce de Leche Duos”

  1. Jodie Says:

    It’s still early on the west coast, so you’re fine! Thanks for baking- love the choco drizzle!!

  2. Susan Says:

    Love the addition of chocolate drizzle. Great looking cookies!

  3. Marthe Says:

    Love the chocolate drizzle, they look too pretty to eat now!!

  4. nickki Says:

    Your cookies look so good! I love your idea of adding a chocolate drizzle 🙂

  5. Amanda Says:

    Oh love the drizzle! I had to do a rewind this week, didn’t have the ingredients. Still want to make them though!

  6. I love the chocolate drizzled on the cookies.

    Just beautiful

  7. CB Says:

    I totally agree! It was hard to take a picture of these cookies b/c there was no contrast. It was brown on brown. Great idea with the chocolate drizzle. I’m totally stealing that idea next time I baked these.
    -CB
    http://iheartfood4thought.com

    • pastrybrush Says:

      Thanks everyone. I had fun making these and munching on them. Mike is taking them to work tomorrow so that I don’t continually walk by the plate and want to grab one 🙂

  8. pamela Says:

    Yum! Your cookies look great. I did the chocolate thing, too. I really loved the one cookie I ate that was filled with ganache. SO GOOD!

  9. Karen Says:

    love the chocolate drizzle on top! Yum!

  10. teaandscones Says:

    The chocolate drizzle was great and using bittersweet ganache definitely helped cut the sweet.

    I prefered them sans filling as well. Chewy and delicious.

    Yours look great with the lovely drizzle.

  11. […] it at 350. I can’t believe that Erin would ever have a doubt while baking, take a look at this, or this, and this! So I’m guessing she’s offering some pretty good advice for those of […]


Leave a Reply

