When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Swedish Visiting Cake April 13, 2010

Filed under: Baking,Cake,Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 7:00 am

This weeks Tuesdays with Dorie was chosen by Nancy of The Dogs Eat the Crumbs.  I love Nancy’s blog, not just because her banner picture is awesome, but because her food pictures are beautiful and she tells it like it is 🙂  This week Nancy chose Dorie’s Swedish Visiting Cake which is located on page 197 in Baking: From My Home to Yours.

I ended up making this cake on Monday before I went to work the closing shift.  This cake was quick and easy to make.  It reminded me of a pound cake but without all the beating…of butter that is 🙂  I used lemon zest, both vanilla and almond extract, and chose to bake it in a 9-inch glass pie dish because I didn’t want to go digging for the cast iron.

The cake turned out fantastic.  It made the entire kitchen smell of sweet lemons…yummy 🙂  Once cooled, I sliced into the cake and ate a slice.  It was perfect.  The cake has a nice tight crumb, reminiscent of pound cake, and a light lemon and almond flavor.  I would definitely make this again.  Thanks for choosing a great recipe Nancy.

