When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Swedish Visiting Cake April 13, 2010

Filed under: Baking,Cake,Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 7:00 am

This weeks Tuesdays with Dorie was chosen by Nancy of The Dogs Eat the Crumbs.  I love Nancy’s blog, not just because her banner picture is awesome, but because her food pictures are beautiful and she tells it like it is 🙂  This week Nancy chose Dorie’s Swedish Visiting Cake which is located on page 197 in Baking: From My Home to Yours.

I ended up making this cake on Monday before I went to work the closing shift.  This cake was quick and easy to make.  It reminded me of a pound cake but without all the beating…of butter that is 🙂  I used lemon zest, both vanilla and almond extract, and chose to bake it in a 9-inch glass pie dish because I didn’t want to go digging for the cast iron.

The cake turned out fantastic.  It made the entire kitchen smell of sweet lemons…yummy 🙂  Once cooled, I sliced into the cake and ate a slice.  It was perfect.  The cake has a nice tight crumb, reminiscent of pound cake, and a light lemon and almond flavor.  I would definitely make this again.  Thanks for choosing a great recipe Nancy.

 

23 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie: Swedish Visiting Cake”

  1. Looks wonderful.

    I just loved the batter.

  2. Mary Says:

    I agree–this was the perfect cake: quick and delicious! Yours looks great!

  3. Your cake is perfection – I’m so glad you liked it. Love the almond + lemon combo and the dense crumb. Thanks for the kind words and for baking along with me this week!

  4. cindy harris Says:

    Your cake looks perfect! Love the lemon, almond and vanilla flavors.

  5. Beth Says:

    Great picture! I loved the lemon flavor, too!

  6. CB Says:

    Agreed. The house smelling like lemon+almond was just an additional plus!
    -CB
    http://iheartfood4thought.com

  7. Jeannette Says:

    Mmm this looks great! I’m glad you enjoyed it as much as most likely everyone else did 🙂

  8. looks good! i loved the ease as well!

  9. Marthe Says:

    Absolute perfection!! Both look- and taste-wise!!

  10. Karen Says:

    You cake looks perfect! We loved this at our house as well!

  11. April Says:

    I agree, it smelled SO good!

  12. Susan Says:

    I loved how yummy my house smelled while this was baking. Yours looks perfect!

  13. Michelle Says:

    Yipeee for Swedish cake..I loved it. The only thing I have had Swedish is the candy Swedish fish! Your cake looks so good!

  14. Janell Says:

    I have to agree–I LOVE this cake! Yours looks perfect!

  15. Looks delicious – great job!

  16. Your cake looks lovely, I would bake this cake just to perfume the house.

  17. uclala Says:

    Your cake looks lovely! = ) I wish we had some leftover so I can have another slice! I love the smell of lemons too!

  18. Cathy Says:

    We loved this one too – yours is perfect! Glad you enjoyed!

  19. teaandscones Says:

    This was almost too easy to be sooooo good. Yours looks just perfect.

  20. Yeah, it did kind of have a pound cake vibe! But I think I actually liked this better than pound cake. Yours looks beautiful.

  21. nickki Says:

    Your cake looks delicious. I really loved this one.


Leave a Reply

