When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Daring Bakers’ Challenge: Traditional English Pudding April 27, 2010

Filed under: Pudding,The Daring Bakers' — pastrybrush @ 1:14 pm
Tags: , , ,

The April 2010 Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Esther of The Lilac Kitchen. She challenged everyone to make a traditional British pudding using, if possible, a very traditional British ingredient: suet.

I decided to go with one of the sweet puddings, and since I don’t have ready access to suet I just went with a handy substitute LARD 🙂  For the flavors I decided to make a Syrup Pudding (Golden Syrup) and a Marmalade Pudding (Homemade Orange Marmalade).  I was going to do a few others, but I procrastinated and didn’t start making these until this afternoon, so  I just stuck with what was simple. (more…)

 

Tuesdays With Dorie: Chockablock Cookies

Filed under: Baking,Cookies,Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 1:13 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

This weeks Tuesdays with Dorie was chosen by Mary of Popsicles and Sandy Feet.  She chose Dorie’s Chockablock Cookies which are located on page 86 in Baking: From My Home to Yours.  I guess you could consider this cookie a throw all cookie…as in you throw a bunch of random yummy stuff in the batter (dried fruit, coconut, oats, chocolate, nuts, etc.) and bake it up 🙂

I have to hurry up and write this entry because I need to leave for work in 30 minutes.  I baked up these little monsters in the oven this afternoon, and the last batch just made its way out of the oven.  For the filling I ended up using golden raisins, coconut, oats, chocolate chips, and hazelnuts.

Why hazelnuts?

They were sitting in my freezer and I needed to use them.

Before baking, the molasses flavor was very prominent in the batter, but after they came out of them oven I couldn’t even taste the molasses.  All I could taste was the wonderful combination of hazelnuts and chocolate.  These giant cookies reminded me of a high ended oatmeal raisin cookie with the added yumminess of hazelnuts and chocolate.  I am sure Mike will grab one of these off the counter when he gets home and not even realize that they have coconut in them 🙂

Thank you for picking these this week Mary.  They were quick and easy to make and they were yummy 🙂