When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Daring Bakers’ Challenge: Traditional English Pudding April 27, 2010

Filed under: Pudding,The Daring Bakers' — pastrybrush @ 1:14 pm
Tags: , , ,

The April 2010 Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Esther of The Lilac Kitchen. She challenged everyone to make a traditional British pudding using, if possible, a very traditional British ingredient: suet.

I decided to go with one of the sweet puddings, and since I don’t have ready access to suet I just went with a handy substitute LARD 🙂  For the flavors I decided to make a Syrup Pudding (Golden Syrup) and a Marmalade Pudding (Homemade Orange Marmalade).  I was going to do a few others, but I procrastinated and didn’t start making these until this afternoon, so  I just stuck with what was simple.

The dough came together really easily.  I was actually surprised at how simple the recipe was.  To steam the pudding I used a 5 qt pan with a steaming rack.  I placed the puddings in 4 small (6 oz) ramekins and covered them with butter foil.  Since I was making smaller puddings I only steamed them for 45 minutes, and they were perfectly done.  They all came right out of the ramekins with no trouble.  When they were steaming they weren’t sitting flat so they didn’t rise evenly.  As a result they look a little odd 🙂

The puddings came out and were very moist.  Out of the two that I made I prefered the orange marmalade.  I think if I make these again I will add orange zest or lemon zest to the batter to make it a little more flavorful.  Other than that, I really enjoyed these 🙂

Steamed Suet Pudding, sponge type.

Recipe Source: Recipes come from the following sources: Delia Smith’s Complete Cookery Course, The pudding club (www.puddingclub.com), Mrs Beeton’s Book of Household Management and the Dairy Book of Home Cooking and my family’s recipe notes!

(100 grams/4 ounces) All-purpose flour
(1/4 teaspoon) salt
(1.5 teaspoons) Baking powder
(100 grams/4 ounces) breadcrumbs
(75 grams/3 ounces) Caster sugar
(75 grams/ 3 ounces) Shredded suet or suet substitute (i.e., Vegetable Suet, Crisco, Lard)
(1) large egg
(6 to 8 tablespoons) Cold milk

1. Sift flour, salt and baking powder into bowl.
2. Add breadcrumbs, sugar and suet.
3. Mix to a soft batter with beaten egg and milk
4. Turn into a buttered 1 litre/ 2pint pudding basin and cover securely with buttered greaseproof paper or aluminum foil.
5. Steam steadily for 2.5 to 3 hours
6. Turn out onto warm plate, Serve with sweet sauce to taste such as custard, caramel or a sweetened fruit sauce.

Variants:
Spotted Dick – Add 75g/ 3oz currants and 25g/1 oz of mixed chopped peel with the sugar.
Syrup or Treacle or Marmalade Pudding – put 2 Tablespoons of golden syrup, treacle or marmalade at the bottom of the bowl before adding pudding mix.
My Fair Lady Pudding – Add finely grated rind of 1 medium orange or lemon with the sugar.
Ginger Pudding – replace the sugar with 100g/4oz of treacle, and add 1/2 tsp ground ginger.

 

One Response to “Daring Bakers’ Challenge: Traditional English Pudding”

  1. Looks lovely, and not odd at all!


Leave a Reply

