When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Quick Classic Berry Tart May 11, 2010

Filed under: Baking,Tarts,Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 1:00 am
Tags: , ,

Sorry, I have been MIA for a week.  I really wanted to make the Burnt Sugar Ice Cream last week, but I am in the middle of a lifestyle change.  I am actually watching and counting everything that I put in my mouth.  It is a bit of a downer sometimes and I had to really push myself this week to participate because GOD knows I want to have a big chunk of this tart.

I am currently behaving myself, which is a HUGE shocker.

I started P90X last week and today marks the beginning of my second week.  I have this whole theory about loosing weight before Mike and I start a family, so that is what initially motivated me.  I have done Power 90 so I knew what I was getting into.  So far, I have two goals 1) to lose 20 lbs, 2) to be able to do all of the Plyometrics workout without modifications and if I happen to get a little ripped  by the end of 90 days, BONUS 🙂  If you have ever done the Plyo workout modified or not; you know that it kicks your butt every time.  Mike is going on the P90X journey with me sans the nutrition side.

On to the baking 🙂

This weeks Tuesdays with Dorie was chosen by Cristine of Cooking with Cristine.  She chose Dorie’s Quick Classic Berry Tart which is located on page 377 of Baking: From My Home to Yours.  When I first saw this tart I thought yummy, then I thought I have strawberries from the Berry Farm in my fridge.

YAY!!! Strawberry Tart 🙂

To reduce the temptation I only made half a recipe.  For a fresher taste, I decided to make the lemon pastry cream.  This just consisted of added fresh lemon zest to the milk and letting it steep after it boils.  I did dip my finger into the cream and it was smooth, yummy, and lemony.  I have had the sweet tart dough before so I know it is tasty, and I have been eating strawberries as part of my breakfast for a week now.  So, if I just put all the flavors together in my head; I can imagine that this is a nice summery dessert 🙂

I hope Mike enjoys in reality while I dream about it.

 

19 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie: Quick Classic Berry Tart”

  1. Marthe Says:

    Gorgeous! I love the idea of adding lemon to the pastry cream!

  2. natalia Says:

    Ciao ! Great tartlets and great projects !! I admire your will power !!

  3. Sihan Says:

    All the best with the regime! i’m sure you’ll emerge victorious.

    P.S. I hope mike enjoyed the tart too cause it looks lovely!

  4. Flourchild Says:

    Your tart look so good. I hope the weight loss journey goes well for you!

  5. Romaine Says:

    Lemon in the filling sounds wonderful–especially with the strawberries!

  6. nickki Says:

    Your little tarts look so good! I also used strawberries.

  7. Love the lemon cream. Sounds tasty! Great job on getting healthy!

  8. Cristine Says:

    Thank you so much for baking along with me this week, even if you weren’t able to enjoy the completed dessert. Your tarts look amazing!

    And good for you for doing P90X. I haven’t done it, but I just finished 60 days of the Insanity workout. Plyometrics are no joke! Keep up the great work!

  9. pamela Says:

    Congratulations and LOTS of LUCK on your life style change. I’m in the middle of one of those myself, so I can totally relate. I’m impressed with the P90X! Great job. I do a lot of Cathe work outs, and I am scared of all of the plyo stuff. Keep up the great work, though! Beautiful little tarts!

  10. cindy harris Says:

    Proud of you! Sounds like you are doing a good thing. Tarts look tasty too.

  11. Janell Says:

    Oh yummy–LEMON pastry cream! I must try it! Your mini tarts look fantastic.

    And good luck with your goals. 🙂

  12. Mimi Says:

    Your tarts look delicious. Congratulation for not eating one, you have will power. Wishing you success with your lifestyle change.
    Mimi

  13. Mary Says:

    Your tarts look beautiful–even I am imagining their taste, and I had some last night! I have never heard of P90X, but I am on my way to look it up now. Best of luck with your goals.
    🙂

  14. the lemon pastry cream sounds so good– i wouldn’t be able to resist!

  15. Jill B Says:

    Your tarts are adorable! And congrats on the P90X…..it will definitely kick your butt into shape! Tough workout.

  16. teaandscones Says:

    Yum!! LEMON!! Great addition. Good luck with the life-style change. IT is hard, but gets easier as you go. You go, Girl.

  17. Leslie Says:

    Your tarts are beautiful! I’m impressed that you’re doing P90X!

  18. mike Says:

    Much luck on your quest – I know you will succeed! Just keep thinking “I can do it”! And boy, you can sure make a nice looking tart (or two)!


Leave a Reply

