When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Apple-Apple Bread Pudding May 18, 2010

Filed under: Baking,Pudding,Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 11:01 am
Tags: , ,

This weeks Tuesdays with Dorie was hosted by Elizabeth of Cake or Death?.  She chose Dorie’s Apple-Apple Bread Pudding which is located on pages 408-409 in Baking: From My Home to Yours.

Okay, so if you didn’t already know I LOVE bread pudding, especially if it has a bourbon sauce with it 🙂  I guess it just brings back memories of my childhood.  Wait, not the bourbon but the bread pudding.  If it was bourbon that would be an interesting childhood, that I possibly couldn’t remember.

Ummm, Bread Pudding….yummy.

So, I was a little excited when we were given another chance to make bread pudding.  Like all bread puddings, this was really easy to put together.  Almost like an Apple-Apple sandwich (sauteed apples and apple butter).  I decide to forgo the water bath because I didn’t want to take the time to drag out the roasting pan that is at the bottom and back of the pantry.  So, I just lowered the oven temperature to 300 °F and baked it for 1 hour and 25 minutes, and it turned out perfectly.

I cut a tiny sliver off the bread pudding this morning, so that I could try it because there was noway on earth that none of this was going in my mouth.  It was apply and soft, but I think it was missing something.

Wait I think I know…a huge scoop of ice cream ::day dreaming:: and BOURBON SAUCE.  Also I think a nice addition to this recipe would be raisins, possibly soaked in Cointreau.  All in all, this was a great dessert that I am sure my husband will be enjoying for breakfast for the next few days.

Yes, I said breakfast.  On its own it is like a perfect version of Apple Stuffed French Toast.  Mike has already said he would go as far as warming it up with butter and syrup.  Yummy, a man after my own heart 🙂

 

9 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie: Apple-Apple Bread Pudding”

  1. I’ll just take the bourbon sauce and a spoon.

    Thank you.

  2. I couldn’t resist making a bourbon sauce either. So good!

  3. Flourchild Says:

    Yum that look so good! I love the picture!

  4. Jules Says:

    We thought an alcohol addition would be a good one. Yum!

  5. ooh liberally covered in icing sugar. I like 🙂

  6. cstewarts Says:

    Here, here on the maple syrup! Yours looks tasty.

  7. Jodie Says:

    Looks great!

  8. Romaine Says:

    I think you are right on about the raisins!

  9. Denlea Says:

    Yeah, it’s good, very useful, thanks 🙂


Leave a Reply

