When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Banana Coconut Ice Cream Pie May 25, 2010

Filed under: Ice Cream,Pie,Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 10:47 pm
Tags: , ,

This weeks Tuesdays with Dorie was chosen by Spike of spikebakes.  He threw a dart at Dorie’s Banana Coconut Ice Cream Pie, which is located on page 350 in Baking: From My Home to Yours.

Sorry this is almost late.  I have been working morning and working out when I get home, so I haven’t had much time to do anything.  I think I had time tonight because I am taking a night off working out.  I am also under the impression that working out at night is making me more tired at work, so I am going to try my hardest to start getting up in the mornings and working out before work.  Which is going to be extremely hard for me since I am not a morning person at ALL.

I did cave in and try this lovely dessert.  To make it a little healthier and less tempting, I only made two mini tarts (1/8 of a recipe) and I used Soy Chocolate Ice Cream (that would be the healthier part).  It actually turned out really well.  Since I was in a hurry, I didn’t keep it in the freezer for the required 4 hours after putting it together so it was nice and soft and yummy.

I actually got Mike to eat one of the tarts which is actually surprising since he hates it when I sneak soy into stuff.  I actually put tofu in a chocolate pie and didn’t tell him, until after the fact.  He really liked the pie, but he wasn’t too happy about the fact that he ate tofu without knowing it :)

 

3 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie: Banana Coconut Ice Cream Pie”

  1. You sound like me…gym, work, etc., etc. Long story short, I made minis too.

    Your pie looks YUMMY!

  2. natalia Says:

    Lovely tartlets !!!

  3. i do that too – sneak foods into other foods then tell people afterwards.

    like my cottage cheese cheesecake. SO GOOD!!! lol.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 461 other followers