When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Dressy Chocolate Loafcake June 22, 2010

I know this post is late.

Sorry, the husband forgot to pick up raspberry jam and then I realized I was out of butter.

What is that about?  How can I be out of butter?

I swear I keep it stock piled in the freezer, but there I was ready to bake with no butter.

I finally got the key ingredients and got down to making this weeks Tuesdays With Dorie.  Which happens to be Dressy Chocolate Loafcake chosen by Amy of Amy Ruth Bakes.  This recipe can be found on pages 286-287 in Baking: From My Home to  Yours.

I decided to make these little monsters into cupcakes so that Mike can take them to work and give them away.  Some of his coworkers have been complaining about the lack of baked goods that have been making there way to his office.  So I figured I would satisfy their chocolate craving for tomorrow.

This recipe actually baked up 16 cupcakes, but I wouldn’t be surprised if you could stretch it to 20.  I baked them in a 350°F oven for 20-25 minutes. After letting them cool, I cut out the center of each cupcake with a knife, then filled them with jam, and replaced the center piece before I iced them.

These actually turned out really good, and Mike got to taste test one of the ugly ones.  I am waiting to take a picture until tomorrow so that I can use the natural light outside 🙂

 

4 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie: Dressy Chocolate Loafcake”

  1. Flourchild Says:

    I hate when you don’t have stuff you need for cooking and baking. The one that gets me the most is when you were Just AT THE sTORE!!
    Im cald you liked the loaf cake. I think making it into cupcakes is the best idea!

  2. Marthe Says:

    Cupcakes??? Great idea! Why didn’t I think of that?

  3. dorie Says:

    I bet the cake made swell cupcakes — the texture would should have been perfect. Hope Mike and his co-workers enjoyed them.

    • pastrybrush Says:

      Everyone loved the cupcakes. I think the best part was the raspberry surprise in the center 🙂


Leave a Reply

