When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Tarte Noire and Rum-Drenched Vanilla Cakes July 6, 2010

Okay, this post is going to encompass last weeks recipe Rum-Drenched Vanilla Cakes and this weeks recipe Tarte Noire.

Wendy of Pink Stripes chose Dorie’s Rum-Drenched Vanilla Cakes which are located on pages 226-227 in Baking: From My Home to Yours. For this recipe, I only made half and made them into cupcakes.  Which worked out to exactly 12 muffins.  I actually really enjoyed these muffins.  They were soft and moist, and with the rum syrup they actually had the flavor of tres leches cake.  One night, I split a muffin opened and top it with sweetened ricotta cheese, peaches, and raspberries.  It was fantastic 🙂

Dharmagirl of bliss: towards a delicious life chose Dorie’s Tarte Noire which is located on page 351 in Baking: From My Home to yours.  I had some luck with this recipe because I had 1/2 a recipe of Sweet Tart Dough hanging out in my freezer, so I had one less thing to do 🙂  I decided to pop out 1/2 a recipe in small tart form, which came out to 4 tarts.  The flavor on these was great, and the ganache was smooth and just all around perfect.

 

3 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie: Tarte Noire and Rum-Drenched Vanilla Cakes”

  1. mike Says:

    Duo delectable! Love your dark ganache – so smooth and decadent. Glad you enjoyed both – “rum muffins” – now there’s a variation I could do! Both are beautiful!

  2. dontcha love having some dough in the freezer? it somehow makes everything so much quicker and simpler. nice!

  3. She Whisks Says:

    Wow, the tarts look so delicious. And so does the muffin! Nice one!


Leave a Reply

