When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Fig Upside-Downer September 14, 2010

Filed under: Baking,Cake,Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 2:55 pm
Tags: ,

This weeks Tuesdays with Dorie was chosen by Sabrina of Superfluous.  She chose Dorie’s Cranberry Upside-Downer, which is located on page 206 in Baking: From My Home to Yours.

Okay, I guess you have noticed that the post name is different than the recipe picked.  Well that is because cranberries haven’t magically appeared at the grocery store lately.  When they do appear I will be jumping out of my skin and grabbing bags and bags of cranberries.  Since I don’t work at the pastry shop anymore (we moved almost a year ago), I won’t be able to readily get my hands on the cran-raspberry tart that we use to make/serve.  So I will be making myself one.  I might take to sharing it 🙂

Okay, back to the recipe at hand.  I recently remembered that Figs had just started to appear at the local Trader Joe’s, so while on my weekly shopping extravaganza (it has turned into one), I picked up a container.  At the time I had no idea what I was going to do with them, but I had to buy them 🙂  Yesterday, I remembered that Tuesdays was coming up and cranberries were just another dream.  It turned into a Fig Upside-Downer day with some Pecans thrown in along with a Sourwood Honey glaze.

It turned out pretty, but I have yet to sample it. Since  I have been being pretty strict with my food intake, I only made half a recipe.  It baked up perfectly in a 6 x 2 round cake pan, at 350°F for 30-35 minutes.  I am still trying to be strong, so we will see what happens to this Upside-Downer.

Okay, I know what is going to happen.

I will end up trying a bite and then forcing the rest of it on Mike 🙂

 

2 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie: Fig Upside-Downer”

  1. Flourchild Says:

    Im sure it will taste wonderful! It sure looks good! I love your idea of using figs..I used cherries!

  2. Jeannette Says:

    figs, what a wonderful idea!! now THIS scream ‘Autumn’ from the rooftops! It looks simply divine!


Leave a Reply

