When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: All-American, All-Delicious Apple Pie October 27, 2010

Filed under: Baking,Pie,Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 7:53 pm
Tags: ,

This weeks Tuesdays With Dorie was chosen by Emily of Sandmuffin.  She picked Dorie’s All-American, All-Delicious Apple Pie which is located on pages 300-302 in Baking: From My Home to Yours.

Yes, I know today isn’t Tuesdays.

I have been taking part in procrastination station with regard to all my baking.  Today, I realized I hadn’t done my Daring Bakers either, so that is also in process.  Along with making a cherry cheesecake for one of Mike’s co-workers for their friends birthday.  For the cheesecake, I just stuck with a Dorie recipe and did her Tall and Creamy Cheesecake (Previous Post).  I added a little bit of lemon zest to the base of the batter, baked it up, and then made a cherry topping.  The cheesecake sans topping is in the freezer firming up so that I can slice it 🙂

In between making the cheesecake, I made the pie crust and kept it refrigerated.  Once the cheesecake was finally out of the oven, I went to finishing up the apple pie.  For this recipe, I actually only made 1/6 of the recipe which makes two perfectly sized mini pies.    While mixing the ingredients together for the filling, I discovered that I had either misplaced my tapioca or actually used all of it and never realized it.  So I went to my old pie standby, cornstarch.

The pies baked up in 40 minutes and as you will see from the picture of Mike, they slipped perfectly out of the ramekin and turned into a hand held apple pie 🙂  I had a couple of bites of Mike’s and the pie was great, and now I can say I have actually made a really good Apple Pie which has been a goal for me for a long time.

Thank you Dorie and thank you Emily for picking this recipe.

As a side note, Dorie’s Birthday was on the 24th and I completely missed it.  So Happy Late Birthday Dorie.  I hope you had a great one 🙂

 

3 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie: All-American, All-Delicious Apple Pie”

  1. Flourchild Says:

    Great picture of Mike eating the pie! Im glad it turned out good and you can say you made a real good Apple Pie!! Im impressed that you made a cheesecake while making this pie..cheesecakes are time consuming.

  2. Cheri Says:

    The Cherry cheesecake was the best everyone said they had. Thank you so much.


Leave a Reply

