When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

It’s BACK!!! VEGAN MOFO November 4, 2010

Filed under: Vegan — pastrybrush @ 11:25 am
Tags: ,

It is that time of year again….

It is VEGAN MOFO time aka Vegan Month of Food.  Again I am participating, and if you have read my blog before you know that I am an omni that likes to experiment with vegan food and I find it tasty.  It is just hard to give up the habit that is my omni lifestyle to switch over being a full tim

e vegan.  So you could say that I am a part time one 🙂

Oh yeah, and I have become a full time slacker with regard to blogging lately 🙂

This entry I should have written last month, but with Vegan Mofo being in November this year, I conveniently put it off.  In Mid-October I had a bunch of friends over from work for a Pumpkin Carving Party.  One of my friends, Ashley, happens to be Vegan and her husband is vegetarian.

So I came up with a whole menu of food that every one would like that was mostly Vegan friendly.

There was actually only 4 things that weren’t 🙂

Below is the menu of everything I made.  Each item is either marked V (Vegan) or NV (Not vegan).  The items that I have posted about before I have placed links to.  The following recipes can 

be found in Veganomicon: Panko- Stuffed Mushrooms, Cornbread, and Lemon Bars.  The Tiramisu Cupcakes can be found in all likely places, Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World, and then Guacamole can be found in Viva! Vegan.

The Butternut Squash and Apple  Soup was a recipe from my friend Debi.  The actual recipe w

as very simple and completely vegan except for the addition of Half and Half so I just substituted Soy Milk and it turned out fantastic.  Everyone ate everything, and the other omni’s raved about the

food and the cupcakes.  Most omni’s are a little wary about eating Vegan food and everyone dove in without any reservations.  All the new recipes that I made for the night (stuffed mushrooms

and lemon bars) completely surprised me, especially the lemon bars.  If I didn’t know that they were vegan I wouldn’t have been able to guess.  They were that GOOD!!!

I wish I would have taken picture of the soup.  It was pretty and yummy.  I actually have some stashed in the freezer, so next time I pull some out I will take

a picture and post this fantastic recipe.  Maybe I will make that for a post later this month 🙂

The Menu

Appetizers

Panko-Stuffed Mushrooms – V

Avocado Summer Rolls with Thai Dipping Sauce– V

Gourgeres – NV

Chips with Salsa and homemade Guacamole – V

Chicken Salad Puffs- NV

Cornbread – V

Main Course

Butternut Squash and Apple Soup – V

Brunswick Stew – NV

Dessert

Lemon Bars – V

Banana Cupcakes with Peanut Butter Buttercream – V

Tiramisu Cupcakes – V

Pumpkin Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Icing – NV

 

4 Responses to “It’s BACK!!! VEGAN MOFO”

  1. Ashley Says:

    It as all delicious thank you again for going out of your way to make food for us, that usually doesn’t happen =)

  2. Renee Says:

    Wow, I wish I had been at your party – the menu looks fantastic. (I’ll be linking it to one of my posts later this month.) Like you, I am an omni – I love vegan food, eat mostly vegetarian, but just can’t bring myself to make the commitment. I’m pretty sure I’ll be making those Banana Cupcakes this weekend!

  3. Tiffany Says:

    Wow, that is an awesome menu! Sounds like a fun and tasty party.

  4. whoa that’s a load of cupcakes! Yum.


Leave a Reply

