When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Nutty Swirly Chocolatey Sour Cream Bundt Cake January 25, 2011

Filed under: Baking,Cake,Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 1:23 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

This weeks Tuesdays With Dorie was chosen by Jennifer of Cooking for Comfort.  She picked Dorie’s Nutty Swirly Chocolatey Sour Cream Bundt Cake, which is located on page 182 in Baking: From My Home to Yours.

To pass the time yesterday on my day off, I decided that I would bake up this recipe only to discover yet again that I was out of butter.  I called Mike at work to see if he could pick me up some butter on his way home, because at that moment I decided that I had no energy to leave the house.  It probably had something to do with working 6 days straight and being pregnant…it kinda takes its toll on you.  I was actually suppose to work 7 but someone graciously offered to take my shift :)  Thanks Mallory.

With being pregnant I think I have gained weird superpowers, like my sense of smell is crazy awesome.  I think that is one symptom of pregnancy that I would like to keep.  I decided to bake some Irish Soda Bread yesterday, to pass some of the time, and the smell that came out of the oven was fantastic.  It has to be one of my top 5 favorite smells.  You could smell the nuttiness from the wheat flour, and then you would get a hint of butter and a slight sweet smell from the brown sugar.  It was heaven, and I was dreading baking anything else because I didn’t want that perfect smell to go away.

Oh, but I was wrong.

I started to make the bundt cake at midnight, and while rubbing the orange zest and sugar together I thought I died and went to heaven.  The smell of sweet oranges is also in my top 5 smells and it actually might be number 1 because I can’t get enough of it.  The batter to the cake was very easy to make and the flavor kept reminding me of an orange cream sickle.  I was wary about putting the swirl in because I didn’t know if it was interfere too much with the flavor of the cake.  I put it in anyway because sometimes you have to take a chance and I trust Dorie.  As of the writing of this post, I have not tried the cake because I opted for Irish Soda Bread and yogurt for breakfast this morning instead of a slice of cake.  But I will definitely be trying this later today and giving an  update :)

 

9 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie: Nutty Swirly Chocolatey Sour Cream Bundt Cake”

  1. Meg Says:

    That looks and sounds delicious! I love the smell of oranges, too — in fact, I often cut them open just for the scent! (And, you know, they taste all right, too.)

  2. Love that smell when you rub zest and sugar together! Your cake slice looks fabulous, too! :)

  3. Karen Says:

    I hope you got to try some of this! It looks fantastic. I remember having super smell abilities when pregnant! It is a fun super power. :)

  4. Flourchild Says:

    Aww the good oh Preg. smells..I remember this one well..some not so good!! Im glad you enjoyed the cake it looks so good! My kids ate this one up quickly!

  5. julessomeone Says:

    Yum! I love the smell of orange and sugar. Toss in a little vanilla, and I’m sold. Looks delicious!

  6. the crumb and texture look great!

  7. Pamela Says:

    The zest in the sugar does smell incredible. And your cake looks so good!

  8. juju73 Says:

    This was such a wonderful cake-thank you for baking along with me!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 461 other followers