When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Great Grains Muffins February 1, 2011

This weeks Tuesdays with Dorie was chosen by Christine of Happy Tummy.  She picked Dorie’s Great Grains Muffins which are located on pages 8-9 in Baking: From My Home to Yours.

Holy Crap!!! I actually have all the ingredients I need…well sans prunes, but I have plenty of other dried fruits (cranberries, cherries, blueberries, apricots, orange flavored cranberries, golden raisins, etc.)  Now I just need to decide which dried fruit to go with.

At first, I was stuck on apricots and then at the last moment I decided to go with cranberries.  I decided to put an entire cup of cranberries in because who doesn’t want plenty of cranberries in their muffins.  I only changed two other things about the recipe, 1) I sprinkled the tops of the muffins with sugar, and 2) I baked these at 350°F for 20 -25 minutes.  I changed the baking time and temperature because lately when I have baked any muffins at 400°F they got WAY too brown on the bottoms.  So I opted to be on the safe side, and they turned on fantastic.

I ate one of the muffins after it had cooled for a couple of minutes and it was still warm and yummy.  The addition of the sugar on top gave it a nice sweet crunch and the dried cranberries added a nice tartness.  With all the grains in the muffin the only one that stood out to me was the cornmeal because it gave the muffin a nice nutty crunch on the outside, reminiscent of a piece of cornbread.  I will definitely be making these muffins again 🙂

 

3 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie: Great Grains Muffins”

  1. tia Says:

    yours look great! moist and yummy. nice job Tia @ Buttercreambarbie

  2. Flourchild Says:

    Love the sugar topping…why didn’t I think of that!? Your muffins looks very tasty! i like this recipe because you can tweek it any way you want. My kids wanted chocolate chips in them, so I added them with flax seed in place of the cornmeal!

  3. Karen Says:

    Oh how I would have loved cranberries in these! Like you said, who doesn’t want lots of cranberries? Your muffins look perfect!


Leave a Reply

