When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Chocolate Oatmeal Drop February 16, 2011

Filed under: Baking,Cookies,Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 6:18 pm
Tags: , , ,

Why is it that I will make the recipe, eat a few, and then not post?

I guess part of it was that I still haven’t taken a picture, which I will get around to and just add to the post.

So, this weeks Tuesdays With Dorie was chosen by Caroline and Claire of Bake With Us.  They picked Dorie’s Chocolate Oatmeal Drops which are located on page 75 in Baking: From My Home to Yours.  I loved this recipe for 2 reasons: 1) VERY easy to make, and 2) It had chocolate 🙂

These cookies came together very easily.  I decided to only make 1/2 a recipe because I was being greedy with my butter.  I knew a full batch would sit around the house way too long since we are still working on two cakes and other sweet items from my birthday on Monday 🙂  These cookies are definitely a winner.  The first thing that I noticed while they were baking is the hint of cinnamon amongst the chocolate.  Which is exactly how they taste.  When you first bite into the cookie you get that hint of cinnamon then you taste a deep chocolate flavor.  At the end of the cookie you get a slight nuttiness from the oats and then get a nice salt bite.  Mike’s reaction was that they were good and you need a glass of milk with them 🙂

 

One Response to “Tuesdays With Dorie: Chocolate Oatmeal Drop”

  1. julessomeone Says:

    I loved that I didn’t have to wait for butter to come to room temp. These were a hit!


Leave a Reply

