When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Toasted Almond Scones February 22, 2011

Filed under: Baking,Scones,Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 11:51 pm
Tags: ,

This weeks Tuesdays With Dorie was chosen by Mike of Living Out West.  He picked Dorie’s Toasted Almond Scones which are located on pages 28-29 in Baking: From My Home to Yours.

Who doesn’t love a scone?  Especially straight out of the oven, the flaky biscuity texture is to die for.  I baked these up this morning before I went to work and had a healthy breakfast of 2 scones, a bowl of fruit, and some yogurt.  The scones were perfect.

At first I thought that the recipe didn’t have enough sugar in it (2 Tbsp), but then if you think about what a traditional scone is you usually don’t see too much sugar and it is more about the topping than anything else.  This morning I just had my scones straight up with no toppings.  Which I think was good since I was already getting natural sugars from the fruit (pineapple, strawberries, and bananas) I was eating.  If I ever get a craving for Almond Scones, I will be making this again 🙂

 

4 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie: Toasted Almond Scones”

  1. Wonderful! Looks fantastic – and yes, I thought there wasn’t enough sugar to begin with either – but turns out they’re not overly sweet anyway. Glad you enjoyed making the and so happy you baked along with me this week!

  2. Tia Says:

    beautiful scones!

  3. Jeannette Says:

    i guess i fall in the sweet scones category as i wished that i added more. BUT i’m not a big scones fan anyway. but yours look so great!! i’m glad you enjoyed them!

  4. yes, i loved the texture and the limited sweetness, too. yours look wonderful!


Leave a Reply

