When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Citrus Currant Sunshine Muffins March 15, 2011

Filed under: Baking,Muffins,Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 7:00 am
Tags: , ,

This weeks Tuesdays with Dorie was chosen by Lauryn of Bella Baker.  She picked Dorie’s Citrus Currant Sunshine Muffins which are located on page 7 of Baking: From My Home to Yours.

Have a expressed my obsession with the smell of oranges lately because if you didn’t already know it is one of my FAVORITES!!  These muffins were such a treat to make and they taste delicious straight from the oven, which is how I enjoyed them for breakfast on Tuesday.  I decided to go with GIANT muffins again.  I baked them on 350°F for about 30 minutes.

Lately, I have started to lower the oven temperature for things like muffins.  I have been doing this because they have a tendency to brown more when baked at a higher temperature because the pan I baked them in is a dark metal pan.  Also, since I have been using the GIANT muffin pan they also have to be in the oven longer so better safe then sorry.

These muffins have a bright citrus flavor that goes perfect with the currants.  I think dried cranberries would also be a great substitution for the currants.  I have a small obsession with the flavor combination of cranberry-orange, which turned into me making a yummy cranberry-orange muffin recipe right after I made these 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

