When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Strawberry Rhubarb Double Crisp April 12, 2011

Filed under: Baking,Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 6:57 pm
Tags: , , , ,

This weeks Tuesdays with Dorie was chosen by Sarah of Teapots and Cakestands.  She picked Dorie’s Strawberry Rhubarb Double Crisp which is located on pages 420-421 in Baking:From My Home to Yours.  Anything strawberry rhubarb reminds me of Mike and his parents because the first time I had a strawberry rhubarb pie was when Mike’s mom (my mother-in-law) made one for dessert.  It was very tasty, and I loved it.  The first time I tried my hand at making the pie for Mike I didn’t bake it long enough because the rhubarb was still a bit crunchy.

After I had made the pie a few times I knew that I should slice the rhubarb pretty thin just to make sure it cooks in time.  For this recipe I was actually worried about the rhubarb not cooking enough since you cook the strawberry mixture first.  So I decided to slice the rhubarb up relatively thin and cook it with the strawberry filling just to make sure.  It turned out perfectly.  I love Dorie’s idea of a double crisp with the crisp topping as a topping and a crust.

This tasted great straight out of the oven, and it when perfectly with a scoop of vanilla ice cream on top.  Unfortunately, I made the crisp last week and when it came out of the oven it was already dark outside.  I took a few pictures inside, but they just didn’t turn out as good.  What I should have done was taken a picture of the crisp with ice cream on top.  But once I had it portioned out for myself there was no way that I was going to take the time to get the camera, take it outside, and take a picture.  All I wanted was to take they first bite, and it was perfect.  The ground ginger and the crystallized ginger have the crisp a nice spiciness which I appreciated.

This is definitely something I will be making again because it was very simple and extremely yummy :)

 

3 Responses to “Tuesdays With Dorie: Strawberry Rhubarb Double Crisp”

  1. Looks like a great pick! Love strawberry season.

  2. cindy harris Says:

    I too loved the ginger in this recipe, but I do love ginger. Sometimes it is difficult to photo food, especially when you don’t want to eat melted, soupy ice cream.
    Have a great day.

  3. Nicole Says:

    I really liked the ginger in the crisp topping. I hadn’t baked with rhubarb before and I used frozen, which I was worried was cut to thick, but it worked out just fine!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 461 other followers