When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

French Fridays With Dorie: Vanilla Eclairs April 15, 2011

I know I really haven’t been cooking/baking the French Fridays With Dorie stuff, but I guess that is just me being a slacker.  However, as soon as I saw that this week was vanilla eclairs I knew that I would be making these. 1) Because I love eclairs, and 2) My in-laws were coming over for a Crawfish Boil and they could help me eat them…little did I know.

Eclairs have three parts to them: Pastry Cream (Vanilla), Pate a Choux, and a glaze (Chocolate Ganache).  Pastry Cream and Chocolate Ganache are pretty straight forward but when it comes to making and baking with Pate a Choux, that is when the problems sometimes arrive.  I have noticed that with some recipe the baking time is a little too short for me because the eclairs aren’t browned enough and then when you take them out they deflate.  I have learned a few times, (Here), that you have to bake them just a little bit longer to dry them out to get the perfect eclair.  With Dorie’s recipe, I baked them an extra 5-7 minutes.

I ended up making mini eclairs, about 3 inches in length, the recipe made 24 of those and then I made 6 small cream puffs to use up the rest of the dough.  Everyone really enjoyed the Vanilla Eclairs, but the problems was that for the Crawfish Boil I also made a Key Lime Pie.  So in the end not very many of the eclairs got eaten and I have been randomly sneak eating a few each day.  I think I justify it because they are small and very yummy…oh well🙂

Go pick up Dorie Greenspan’s Around My French Table to get this wonderful recipe.

 

3 Responses to “French Fridays With Dorie: Vanilla Eclairs”

  1. Teresa Says:

    Your eclairs look beautiful! The classic combination.

  2. Karen Says:

    Those look beautiful! I just got around to making mine today and I did the same flavor combination as you. My pastry deflated slightly (I’ll cook a little longer next time) but they taste delicious! I’m hoping to get a lot of help eating mine so I don’t have to sneak eat a few each day (and I would).


Leave a Reply

