When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Brown Sugar Bundt Cake May 10, 2011

This weeks Tuesdays with Dorie was chosen by Peggy from Pantry Revisited.  She picked Dorie’s Brown Sugar Bundt Cake which is located on page 179 in Baking: From My Home to Yours.

I actually made this  for my Baby Shower that was on May 8th and it turned out fantastic.  I decided to use Granny Smith Apples instead of Pears, Golden Raisins instead of prunes, and I substituted 1/2 of the flour for whole white wheat flour.  I did these substitutions because they were the items that I had on hand and I didn’t want to have to make an extra trip to the grocery store.  I actually made a good amount of the food for my shower, so I wanted to make sure that this one thing didn’t put me behind on everything else.

The recipe actually came together very easily and it baked up in no time at all.  I followed Dorie’s directions on buttering/flouring the bundt pan, and the cake turned out perfectly.  I usually just use a cooking spray and I end up with some stickage but the last few times buttering/flouring made everything turn out great.  So I guess that teaches me that sometimes I need to follow directions🙂

The picture is a little off because I forgot to take a picture of the cake before we took it to the shower, so this was the leftovers which I am still munching on.  The cake is still moist and yummy after being baked a few days ago🙂

 

Leave a Reply

