When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Catching up with Tuesdays with Dorie July 5, 2011

By now you have probably realized why I have been Missing in Action.  I had a little baby nugget, who is currently strapped to my chest as I write this.  I am still in complete awe of her, and that Mike and I made her.  It seems so surreal🙂

The past 5 weeks I have actually made all but one of the Tuesdays With Dorie recipes, I just haven’t had time to post them.  Especially since I wasn’t suppose to be walking upstairs, which is where the computer is.  Now that I am better and I don’t hurt as much, I can actually make it up the stairs without cringing in pain🙂

First up, for the week of June 7th Cindy of Everyday Insanity chose Dorie’s Blueberry-Brown Sugar Plain Cake, which is located on page 36 in Baking: From My Home to Yours.  I actually completely forgot that I didn’t post this recipe until I went to download the pictures of everything else that I had baked.  Now how could I have forgotten this recipe.  It was FANTASTIC.  The cake reminded me of the Betty Crocker Blueberry Muffin Mix that you get at the store.  My mom use to always make those blueberry muffins and we would have them with dinner or for breakfast straight out of the oven with butter on them.  I now have a recipe that I can use instead of buying the mix🙂

For the week of June 21st Mary of Popsicles and Sandy Feet chose Dorie’s Date-Nut Loaf, which is located on page 228 in Baking: From My Home to Yours.  This recipe was this first thing that I made when I started to feel better.  I guess you could say that baking was the sign that I was getting back to my normal self.  Do you know how hard it is to not do the things you want to do because your body will hate you the next day?  Well it isn’t fun, and I paid for it a few times

Back to the food :)  I am really not a Date person, but I really liked this loaf.  It was perfect slightly warm out of the oven.  While my parents were in town helping with Emma, they actually helped Mike and I eat this loaf.  It actually went pretty quick since we were eating it for breakfast.  Unfortunately, it went so quick that I never had the opportunity to take a picture of the loaf.  But it was pretty, and it was studded with walnuts and dates…very yummy and very easy to make.

For the week of June 28th, Spike of Spike Bakes chose Dorie’s  Sour Cream Chocolate Cake Cookies, which are located on page 160.  These cookies were very easy to make, scoop and bake.  I ended up forgetting to put in the cinnamon, which actually worked in my favor because they tasted wonderful.  I don’t think they would have been as good with the cinnamon.  The flavor of the cookies reminded me of a chocolate chip cookie sans chocolate chips.  The soft hint of chocolate in the cookies was perfect and the texture was nice and cakey with a slight crunch on the outside.

This weeks Tuesdays with Dorie was chosen by Bridget of The Way the Cookie Crumbles.  She picked Dorie’s Chocolate Chunk Muffins which are located on pages 18-19 in Baking: From My Home to Yours.  These muffins just came out of the oven and they look absolutely perfect.  Growing up my parents use to by giant muffins in bulk and freeze them.  My favorite was eating the Chocolate Chunk Muffins straight out of the freezer with a spoon.

Don’t ask.  It was just something that I would do, and it was an excuse to have dessert for breakfast or anytime for that matter🙂 These muffins reminded me of my childhood, but they just need a little bit more chocolate chips in them.  I think I am currently on a chocolate kick because I can’t get enough of it, yummy.

 

5 Responses to “Catching up with Tuesdays with Dorie”

  1. Nicole Says:

    I’ve had those giant chocolate muffins. These weren’t quite the same but still very good. All your items look really great!

    Congrats on your little one!

  2. mary nevins Says:

    Very much enjoying this blog,Erin.

  3. Pamela Says:

    Congratulations on the little one! It never stops being amazing. Thankfully, it does get some what less exhausting as time goes by! Nice job, doing all of the baking!! Be well.

  4. congratulations on the baby nugget! hope you are feeling good, and i’m amazed you’ve had the energy to bake all these good looking things!

  5. Lauryn Says:

    congrats on your little baby girl!! That is so exciting!! I am impressed that you’ve had time for all the baking!!! Enjoy every moment with her!!!


Leave a Reply

