When in Doubt…Leave it at 350

baking, cooking, and other adventures

Tuesdays With Dorie: Creamy Dark Chocolate Sorbet July 26, 2011

Filed under: Ice Cream,Tuesdays With Dorie — pastrybrush @ 12:16 pm
Tags: , , , ,

This weeks Tuesdays with Dorie was chosen by Steph of A Whisk and A Spoon.  She picked Dorie’s Creamy Dark Chocolate Sorbet, which is located on page 431 in Baking: From My Home to Yours.  I was pretty interested in making this recipe because I have never had chocolate sorbet before.  Of course I have had chocolate ice cream and chocolate gelato, but sorbet is different.  This sorbet only had 4 ingredients: milk, water, sugar, and chocolate.

This was extremely easy to make, just throw everything in a pot, bring to a boil, cool, churn, then place in freezer to harden up.  What more could a girl ask for, especially when she is craving chocolate :)  I made the base on Monday, and then churned (place in ice cream maker) and froze on Tuesday.  Before the base was frozen it tasted very yummy, so I can imagine how yummy it will be frozen.  The verdict is I think I might actually prefer this over Chocolate Ice Cream.  The flavor of the chocolate in the Sorbet was more pronounced, and creamier.  Best part is that I made it with Non-Fat Milk so I don’t have to feel guilty about eating it🙂

 

One Response to “Tuesdays With Dorie: Creamy Dark Chocolate Sorbet”

  1. yes, chocolate sorbet really does have an intense, pure chocolate taste. thanks for churning this up with me this week!


Leave a Reply

